Capitale culturale europene

Praga – Cehia (2000)

Prague Castle

Located in Prague’s Hradcany neighborhood, Prague Castle (Pražský hrad), once the home of Bohemia’s kings, is today the official residence of the Czech Republic’s President and one of the city’s most visited tourist attractions. Originally built as a walled fortress around AD 870, the castle has changed dramatically over the years and contains examples of most of the leading architectural styles of the last millennium. Within the castle walls are a number of Prague’s most popular tourist sites, including St. Vitus Cathedral, St. George’s Basilica, the Powder Tower, the Old Royal Palace, and the Golden Lane.

Situat în cartierul Hradcany din Praga, Castelul din Praga (Pražský hrad), cândva casa regilor Boemiei, este astăzi reședința oficială a președintelui Republicii Cehe și una dintre cele mai vizitate atracții turistice ale orașului. Construit inițial ca o cetate cu ziduri în jurul anului 870 d.Hr., castelul s-a schimbat dramatic de-a lungul anilor și conține exemple ale majorității stilurilor arhitecturale de vârf din mileniul trecut. În interiorul zidurilor castelului se află mai multe dintre cele mai populare obiective turistice din Praga, inclusiv Catedrala Sf. Vitus, Bazilica Sf. Gheorghe, Turnul Pulberii, Vechiul Palat Regal și Banda de Aur.

The National Museum

Fresh from a seven-year-long renovation, the National Museum (Národní Muzeum) in Prague is spread across a number of locations and houses numerous important collections representing a variety of fields, with literally millions of items covering mineralogy, zoology, anthropology, and archaeology, as well as the arts and music. The entomology collection alone numbers more than five million specimens. The oldest museum in the Czech Republic, it was established in the early 1800s before moving to its current location in 1891.

Proaspăt obținut după o renovare de șapte ani, Muzeul Național (Muzeul Národní) din Praga este răspândit în mai multe locații și găzduiește numeroase colecții importante care reprezintă o varietate de domenii, cu literalmente milioane de articole care acoperă mineralogie, zoologie, antropologie și arheologie, precum și arte și muzică. Numai colecția de entomologie numără mai mult de cinci milioane de exemplare. Cel mai vechi muzeu din Republica Cehă, a fost înființat la începutul anilor 1800 înainte de a se muta în locația actuală în 1891.

The Strahov Monastery and Library

The Strahov Monastery and Library (Strahovsky kláster) dates back to the 12th century and is the second oldest monastery in Prague. While its imposing gateway and churches are impressive enough, its most important buildings are its two beautifully decorated Baroque libraries. The Philosophical Library contains a variety of extraordinary furnishings, along with an exquisite ceiling painted by Franz Anton Maulbertsch entitled Enlightenment. The second library, the Theological Library, consists of a splendid Baroque room with a beautiful ornate painted ceiling by Siard Nosecky, a Strahov Monk, along with superb ceiling frescoes framed by detailed stucco work. The libraries contain many rare old volumes and manuscripts, including the famous 9th-century Strahov Gospel, while in the cellars are old printing presses along with the remains of St. Norbert, founder of the Premonstratensian Order.

Mănăstirea și Biblioteca Strahov (Strahovsky kláster) datează din secolul al XII-lea și este a doua cea mai veche mănăstire din Praga. În timp ce poarta sa impozantă și bisericile sunt suficient de impresionante, cele mai importante clădiri ale sale sunt cele două biblioteci baroce frumos decorate. Biblioteca filozofică conține o varietate de mobilier extraordinar, împreună cu un tavan rafinat pictat de Franz Anton Maulbertsch intitulat Iluminism. A doua bibliotecă, Biblioteca teologică, constă dintr-o splendidă cameră barocă, cu un frumos tavan pictat ornamentat de Siard Nosecky, un călugăr Strahov, împreună cu superbe fresce din tavan încadrate de lucrări detaliate de stuc. Bibliotecile conțin numeroase volume și manuscrise vechi rare, inclusiv faimoasa Evanghelie Strahov din secolul al IX-lea, în timp ce în pivnițe se găsesc tipografii vechi împreună cu rămășițele Sfântului Norbert, fondatorul Ordinului premonstratensian.

St. Nicholas Church

On picturesque Little Quarter Square in the Old Town area stands St. Nicholas Church (Kostel svatého Mikuláše), one of Prague’s newer churches. Built by Jesuits in the 18th century, it’s a fine example of High Baroque and is notable for its splendid interior with its unique 19th-century chandelier, as well as the large Baroque paintings by Czech artist Karel Skreta that adorn the huge cupola.

Pe pitorescul cartier mic din cartierul orașului vechi se află Biserica Sf. Nicolae (Kostel svatého Mikuláše), una dintre cele mai noi biserici din Praga. Construită de iezuiți în secolul al XVIII-lea, este un excelent exemplu de baroc înalt și se remarcă prin interiorul său splendid, cu candelabrul său unic din secolul al XIX-lea, precum și picturile mari baroce ale artistului ceh Karel Skreta, care împodobesc cupola uriașă.

Golden Lane – Playground for Alchemists

The mysterious Golden Lane, so called because, according to legends, alchemists had to look on this street to find a reaction to turn ordinary materials into gold. Despite the streets name, it is debated whether alchemists ever worked or lived here. Czech-Jewish writer Franz Kafka used a house on the street for around two years as he enjoyed the peaceful environment it provided whilst writing.

Misteriosul Golden Lane, așa numit pentru că, potrivit legendelor, alchimiștii au trebuit să se uite pe această stradă pentru a găsi o reacție care să transforme materialele obișnuite în aur. În ciuda numelui străzilor, se dezbate dacă alchimiștii au lucrat sau au trăit vreodată aici. Scriitorul ceh-evreu Franz Kafka a folosit o casă pe stradă timp de aproximativ doi ani, în timp ce se bucura de mediul liniștit pe care îl oferea în timp ce scria.

The Municipal House

The Prague Municipal House (Obecní dum) is widely considered one of the finest examples of Art Nouveau in the city. Built in 1912, this splendid civic building is also home to one of Prague’s most important (and largest) concert venues, Smetana Hall, and boasts numerous striking features, from its sumptuous façade with a large mural on the arch above the second floor balcony, to the large dome that rests behind and above the arch. The interior is equally impressive and includes many fine stained glass windows and important paintings.

Casa Municipală din Praga (Obecní dum) este considerată pe scară largă unul dintre cele mai bune exemple de Art Nouveau din oraș. Construită în 1912, această splendidă clădire civică găzduiește, de asemenea, unul dintre cele mai importante (și mai mari) săli de concerte din Praga, Sala Smetana și se mândrește cu numeroase caracteristici izbitoare, de la fațada sa somptuoasă, cu o pictură murală mare pe arcada de deasupra balconului de la etajul al doilea, la cupola mare care se odihnește în spatele și deasupra arcului. Interiorul este la fel de impresionant și include multe vitralii fine și picturi importante.

Charles Bridge

One of the most recognizable old bridges in Europe, magnificent Charles Bridge (Karluv Most) boasts 32 unique points of interest along its 621-meter span. Built in 1357, the bridge has long been the subject of a great deal of superstition, including the builders having laid the initial bridge stone on the 9th of July at exactly 5:31am, a precise set of numbers (135797531) believed to give the structure additional strength. For added good measure, it was constructed in perfect alignment with the tomb of St. Vitus and the setting sun on the equinox. The bridge is particularly famous for its many fine old statues. Among the most important are those of Holy Roman Emperor Charles IV and John of Nepomuk, the country’s most revered saint, unveiled in 1683 (a more recent superstition involves rubbing the plaque at the base of the statue for the granting of a wish).

Unul dintre cele mai recunoscute poduri vechi din Europa, magnificul Pod Charles (Karluv Most) se mândrește cu 32 de puncte de interes unice de-a lungul ariei sale de 621 de metri. Construit în 1357, podul a făcut mult timp obiectul unei mari superstiții, inclusiv constructorii care au așezat piatra inițială a podului pe 9 iulie exact la 5:31 dimineața, un set precis de numere (135797531) despre care se crede că oferă structura rezistență suplimentară. Pentru o măsură mai bună, a fost construit în perfectă aliniere cu mormântul Sfântului Vit și soarele care apune la echinocțiul. Podul este deosebit de renumit pentru numeroasele sale statui vechi fine. Printre cele mai importante se numără cele ale împăratului Sfântului Roman Carol al IV-lea și ale lui Ioan de Nepomuc, cel mai venerat sfânt al țării, dezvăluit în 1683 (o superstiție mai recentă presupune frecarea plăcii de la baza statuii pentru acordarea unei dorințe).

St. Vitus Cathedral

Situated within the grounds of Prague Castle, the Roman Catholic St. Vitus Cathedral (Katedrala St. Vita) is the Czech Republic’s largest and most important Christian church. Seat of the Archbishop of Prague, it’s also home to the tombs of numerous saints and three Bohemian kings. Founded on the site of a Romanesque rotunda built in AD 925, the cathedral was started in 1344 and took more than 525 years to complete, resulting in a mix of modern Neo-Gothic and 14th-century Gothic styles, along with Baroque and Renaissance influences. Interior highlights include stunning stained glass windows depicting the Holy Trinity, a mosaic from 1370 (The Last Judgment), and the St. Wenceslas Chapel (Svatovaclavska kaple) with its spectacular jewel-encrusted altar with more than 1,300 precious stones. Also of note, although rarely displayed, are the Czech crown jewels.

Situată în incinta Castelului Praga, Catedrala Romano-Catolică Sfântul Vitus (Katedrala St. Vita) este cea mai mare și cea mai importantă biserică creștină a Republicii Cehe. Scaunul arhiepiscopului de Praga, găzduiește și mormintele a numeroși sfinți și a trei regi boemi. Fondată pe locul unei rotunde romanice construită în anul 925 d.Hr., catedrala a fost începută în 1344 și a durat mai mult de 525 de ani pentru a finaliza, rezultând un amestec de stiluri neogotice moderne și gotice din secolul al XIV-lea, alături de influențe baroce și renascentiste. . Punctele de atracție interioare includ vitralii uimitoare care descriu Sfânta Treime, un mozaic din 1370 (Judecata de Apoi) și Capela Sf. Venceslau (Svatovaclavska kaple) cu altarul său spectaculos încrustat cu bijuterii, cu peste 1.300 de pietre prețioase. De asemenea, de remarcat, deși sunt rareori afișate, sunt bijuteriile coroanei cehe.

The Dancing House

The Dancing House (Tancící dum), Prague’s most outstanding modern architectural creation, was built between 1992 and 1996 to designs by Frank Gehry. Consisting of two adjoining towers, this splendid structure features unique curves that resemble two dancing figures, an effect heightened by the fact one of the towers is shaped like a woman wearing a skirt (hence the nickname „Fred and Ginger” after famous American dancers Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers).

Casa dansatoare (Tancící dum), cea mai remarcabilă creație arhitecturală modernă din Praga, a fost construită între 1992 și 1996 după proiectele lui Frank Gehry. Compusă din două turnuri alăturate, această splendidă structură prezintă curbe unice care seamănă cu două figuri dansatoare, efect sporit de faptul că unul dintre turnuri are forma unei femei purtând o fustă (de aici porecla „Fred și Ginger” după celebrul dansator american Fred Astaire și Ginger Rogers).

The National Gallery in Prague

The National Gallery in Prague (Národní galerie v Praze) is home to some of Europe’s most important art collections. The bulk of the collection is housed in the Veletrzní Palace (Veletrzní Palác), a relatively modern structure built in 1925 that holds the 19th- to 21st-century works. While there’s a strong emphasis on Czech artists, foreign artists such as Monet and Picasso are included, as are other art forms such as photography, fashion, applied arts, and sculpture. Other notable works are held in the Kinsky Palace (Palác Kinskych), home to Asian art, art from the ancient world, and the gallery’s Baroque collections, and at the Convent of St. Agnes of Bohemia, where you’ll find European art from the Middle Ages. Finally, the splendid 17th-century Sternberg Palace (Sternbersky Palác) houses some of the gallery’s most famous pieces, focusing on European art from the Classical era to the end of the Baroque period and including important ancient Greek and Roman pieces; 14th- to 16th-century Italian masterpieces; and 16th- to 18th-century works by artists such as El Greco, Goya, Rubens, van Dyck, Rembrandt, and van Goyen.

Galeria Națională din Praga (Národní galerie v Praze) găzduiește unele dintre cele mai importante colecții de artă din Europa. Cea mai mare parte a colecției este găzduită în Palatul Veletrzní (Veletrzní Palác), o structură relativ modernă construită în 1925 care deține lucrările din secolele XIX-XXI. În timp ce se pune un accent puternic pe artiștii cehi, sunt incluși artiști străini precum Monet și Picasso, la fel și alte forme de artă precum fotografia, moda, artele aplicate și sculptura. Alte lucrări notabile sunt ținute în Palatul Kinsky (Palác Kinskych), care găzduiește arta asiatică, arta din lumea antică și colecțiile baroce ale galeriei și la Mănăstirea Sf. Agnes din Boemia, unde veți găsi arta europeană din Evul Mediu. În cele din urmă, splendidul Palat Sternberg din secolul al XVII-lea (Sternbersky Palác) găzduiește unele dintre cele mai faimoase piese ale galeriei, concentrându-se pe arta europeană de la epoca clasică până la sfârșitul perioadei baroce și incluzând importante piese antice grecești și romane; Capodopere italiene din secolele XIV-XVI; și lucrări din secolele XVI-XVIII ale unor artiști precum El Greco, Goya, Rubens, van Dyck, Rembrandt și van Goyen.

KGB Museum

This small museum was established by a Russian enthusiast and houses a large variety of memorabilia relating to the secret police of the Soviet Union. You may well be shown around by the collector himself and you can expect to find an assortment of spy cameras, secret weapons and interrogation equipment. Another interesting exhibit within the museum are the photographs of Prague taken by a KGB officer in the year of 1968 in which the streets of the city appear eerily empty.

Acest mic muzeu a fost înființat de un entuziast rus și găzduiește o mare varietate de suveniruri legate de poliția secretă a Uniunii Sovietice. S-ar putea să fii prezentat de colecționarul însuși și te poți aștepta să găsești un sortiment de camere spion, arme secrete și echipamente de interogare. O altă expoziție interesantă din cadrul muzeului sunt fotografiile din Praga făcute de un ofițer KGB în anul 1968, în care străzile orașului apar uimitor de goale.

The Petrín Lookout Tower

Named after the hill on which it stands, the 63.5-meter-high Petrín Lookout Tower (Petrínská rozhledna) is a little like a smaller version of the Eiffel Tower in Paris that offers panoramic views over Prague. Although only a fifth the size of its French counterpart, the tower’s elevation creates the illusion that it’s bigger than it actually is. Built in 1891 for the Prague Exhibition from disused railway tracks, it was later moved to Petrín Hill in the 1930s, where it became one of the city’s major tourist attractions.

Numit după dealul pe care se află, Turnul Petrín Lookout (Petrínská rozhledna), înalt de 63,5 metri, seamănă puțin cu o versiune mai mică a Turnului Eiffel din Paris, care oferă vederi panoramice asupra Pragei. Deși doar o cincime din mărimea omologului său francez, înălțimea turnului creează iluzia că este mai mare decât este de fapt. Construit în 1891 pentru Expoziția de la Praga din căile ferate dezafectate, ulterior a fost mutat pe dealul Petrín în anii 1930, unde a devenit una dintre atracțiile turistice majore ale orașului.

The Hilltop Fortress: Vyšehrad

Looking like something out of a fairy tale, the Vyšehrad fortress—literally translated as the „Upper Castle,” or the „Castle on the Heights”—stands high above the Vltava River overlooking Prague. Known to have been in existence as far back as the 10th century, it has long been the subject of myth and legend. Once the royal residence of Vratislav II, Vyšehrad also played a role as part of the original Royal Route taken by kings about to be crowned, who would have to stop here to pay tribute to their predecessors.

Arătând ca ceva dintr-un basm, cetatea Vyšehrad – literalmente tradusă ca „Castelul superior” sau „Castelul de pe înălțimi” – se află deasupra râului Vltava, cu vedere la Praga. Se știe că a existat încă din secolul al X-lea, a fost mult timp subiectul mitului și legendei. Odată cu reședința regală a lui Vratislav al II-lea, Vyšehrad a jucat, de asemenea, un rol ca parte a Traseului Regal inițial parcurs de regi pe cale să fie încoronat, care ar trebui să se oprească aici pentru a aduce tribut predecesorilor lor.

Josefov: The Jewish Quarter

Prague’s Jewish Quarter was originally located in the Castle District, but by the 1200s had spread to the city’s Josefov area and was for centuries regarded as a ghetto. Its transformation into one of the city’s most important and interesting districts took place in the late 1800s, when large sections were demolished to make way for Art Nouveau apartment buildings. Josefov includes the Jewish Museum in Prague (Židovské muzeum v Praze), an important attraction that consists of the Maisel Synagogue, the Spanish Synagogue, the Pinkas Synagogue, the Ceremonial Hall, and the Klaus Synagogue.

Cartierul evreiesc din Praga a fost situat inițial în districtul Castelului, dar până în anii 1200 se răspândise în zona orașului Josefov și a fost considerat timp de secole ca un ghetou. Transformarea sa într-unul dintre cele mai importante și interesante cartiere ale orașului a avut loc la sfârșitul anilor 1800, când au fost demolate secțiuni mari pentru a face loc clădirilor de apartamente Art Nouveau. Josefov include Muzeul Evreiesc din Praga (Židovské muzeum v Praze), o atracție importantă care constă în Sinagoga Maisel, Sinagoga Spaniolă, Sinagoga Pinkas, Sala Ceremonială și Sinagoga Klaus.

The Olšany Cemetery

Created in 1680 to accommodate Prague’s many plague victims, the Olšany Cemetery (Olšanské hrbitovy) served as the city’s main burial ground for centuries and is the final resting place of countless victims of disease and war. Large enough to hold an estimated two million graves and divided into sections, the graveyard consists of the Jewish Cemetery, which includes the grave of writer Franz Kafka, and the Christian Cemetery, where you’ll find the final resting place of a more recent notable Czech, Jan Palach, who set himself on fire in 1968 in protest against the Soviet invasion. Although his body was taken from Olsany Cemetery in 1973 to prevent his grave from becoming the site of organized protests, his coffin was returned in 1990.

Creat în 1680 pentru a găzdui numeroasele victime ale ciumei din Praga, cimitirul Olšany (Olšanské hrbitovy) a servit drept cimitir principal al orașului timp de secole și este ultimul loc de odihnă al nenumăratelor victime ale bolilor și ale războiului. Suficient de mare pentru a găzdui aproximativ două milioane de morminte și împărțit în secțiuni, cimitirul este alcătuit din cimitirul evreiesc, care include mormântul scriitorului Franz Kafka și cimitirul creștin, unde veți găsi ultimul loc de odihnă al unui notabil mai recent ceh, Jan Palach, care s-a incendiat în 1968 ca protest împotriva invaziei sovietice. Deși trupul său a fost luat de la cimitirul Olsany în 1973 pentru a împiedica mormântul său să devină locul protestelor organizate, sicriul său a fost returnat în 1990.

Seven Foot Tall Sigmund Freud

Walk through the sublime urban area of Stare Mesto within the Old Town of Prague and look to the sky. You will be surprised to find a seven foot tall sculpture of the world famous psycho-analyst Sigmund Freud hanging from a metal beam above the cobbled streets at your feet. The unusual artwork has proven so popular that it has been exhibited in cities all over the world including Chicago, London and Berlin. Often mistaken for a suicide attempt, the sculpture has also been responsible for several calls to the emergency services since its creation.

Mergeți prin zona urbană sublimă a lui Stare Mesto din orașul vechi din Praga și priviți spre cer. Veți fi surprins să găsiți o sculptură înaltă de 7 metri, a renumitului psihoanalist mondial Sigmund Freud, atârnând de o grindă metalică deasupra străzilor pietruite de la picioarele voastre. Opera de artă neobișnuită s-a dovedit atât de populară încât a fost expusă în orașe din întreaga lume, inclusiv Chicago, Londra și Berlin. Adesea confundată cu o tentativă de sinucidere, sculptura a fost, de asemenea, responsabilă de mai multe apeluri către serviciile de urgență de la crearea sa.

The Old Town Square and the Astronomical Clock

The historic center of Prague, the Old Town (Staré Mesto) is where you’ll find the splendid Old Town Square (Staromestské námestí). Here, you’ll find the Tyn Church and the Clementinum, along with numerous other fine old churches, as well as splendid old architecture dating back as far as the 11th century, while the Jewish Quarter, Josefov, is just a short walk north. A highlight is the Old Town Hall (Staromestská radnice), home to the wonderful early 15th-century Astronomical Clock (orloj). Each hour, it springs to life as the 12 Apostles and other figures appear and parade in procession across the clock face. Other Old Town Hall highlights are the Gothic doorway leading to its splendid interior with its art exhibits and displays, a chapel built in 1381, and an old prison.

Centrul istoric al Pragei, Orașul Vechi (Staré Mesto) este locul unde veți găsi splendida Piață a Orașului Vechi (Staromestské námestí). Aici veți găsi Biserica Tyn și Clementinum, împreună cu numeroase alte biserici vechi fine, precum și splendida arhitectură veche datând din secolul al XI-lea, în timp ce Cartierul Evreiesc, Josefov, este la doar o scurtă plimbare spre nord. Un punct culminant este Primăria Veche (Staromestská radnice), care găzduiește minunatul Ceas Astronomic de la începutul secolului al XV-lea (orloj). În fiecare oră, el prinde viață pe măsură ce cei 12 apostoli și alte figuri apar și defilează în procesiune pe fața ceasului. Alte atracții ale primăriei vechi sunt ușa gotică care duce la interiorul său splendid, cu exponatele și expozițiile sale de artă, o capelă construită în 1381 și o închisoare veche.

Communism Museum

Europe is a continent rich in history and political turmoil and the Czech Republic does not buck that trend. The country was a communist nation from 1948 until the  revolution of 1989. Under communist rule, more than 200,000 Czechs were arrested and 327 shot dead as they attempted to flee the country. Inside the communism museum you will find photographs, films and even sculptures documenting the state-sponsored terrorism that occurred under communist rule.

Europa este un continent bogat în istorie și frământări politice, iar Republica Cehă nu încetinește această tendință. Țara a fost o națiune comunistă din 1948 până la revoluția din 1989. Sub conducerea comunistă, peste 200.000 de cehi au fost arestați și 327 morți în timp ce încercau să fugă din țară. În interiorul muzeului comunismului veți găsi fotografii, filme și chiar sculpturi care documentează terorismul sponsorizat de stat care a avut loc sub conducerea comunistă.

The Church of Our Lady before Týn

One of Prague’s most recognizable buildings is the Church of Our Lady before Týn (Kostel Matky Boží pred Týnem), often abbreviated to simply Týn Church. Unmistakable for its twin 80-meter-tall spires flanking each side of the building (each supporting four smaller spires), its main entrance is through a narrow passage past the houses obscuring its façade. Although completed in the 15th century, the church was altered numerous times through the centuries as the city’s allegiances changed,  inside are numerous fine tombs, the superb Gothic northern portal with its Crucifixion sculpture, early Baroque altarpiece paintings dating from 1649, and one of Europe’s finest 17th-century pipe organs.

Una dintre cele mai recunoscute clădiri din Praga este Biserica Maicii Domnului de dinainte de Týn (Kostel Matky Boží pred Týnem), adesea prescurtată în simpla Biserică Týn. Inconfundabilă pentru turlele sale duble de 80 de metri înălțime care flancează fiecare parte a clădirii (fiecare susținând patru turnuri mai mici), intrarea sa principală este printr-un pasaj îngust care trece peste case care îi ascund fațada. Deși a fost finalizată în secolul al XV-lea, biserica a fost modificată de mai multe ori de-a lungul secolelor, pe măsură ce loialitățile orașului s-au schimbat, în interior sunt numeroase morminte fine, superbul portal nordic gotic cu sculptura crucificării, picturile de altar din baroc timpuriu datând din 1649 și una dintre cele mai bune orgi din Europa din secolul al XVII-lea.

The National Theatre

Idyllically perched on the banks of the River Vltava, Prague’s National Theatre is a must-visit for lovers of the performing arts. Home to the country’s top opera, ballet, and drama performances, the National Theater was opened in 1881 as a symbol of Czech national identity and to promote the Czech language and culture. Despite a somewhat checkered past that saw the building destroyed by fire and even closed by the communists, this stunning theater has undergone extensive renovations and stands as a monument to the city’s rich talent and cultural significance.

Situat idilic pe malurile râului Vltava, Teatrul Național din Praga este o vizită obligatorie pentru iubitorii de arte spectacol. Acasă la cele mai importante spectacole de operă, balet și dramă din țară, Teatrul Național a fost deschis în 1881 ca simbol al identității naționale cehe și pentru a promova limba și cultura cehă. În ciuda unui trecut oarecum în carouri care a văzut clădirea distrusă de incendiu și chiar închisă de comuniști, acest teatru uimitor a suferit renovări ample și se ridică ca un monument al bogatului talent al orașului și al semnificației sale culturale.

The Clementinum and the National Library

The Clementinum (Klementinum), one of the largest collections of historic buildings in Europe, is home to the National Library of the Czech Republic. These beautiful Baroque buildings were originally part of a Jesuit College, and later came to house the Jesuit book collection, as well as the collection from the Karolinum. The library eventually became the property of the state after the Jesuits were expelled, and the Clementinum became a public library in 1782 shortly after being constituted as the National Library. With more than six million books, the Clementinum’s collection is huge and includes copies of every book published in the Czech Republic. A highlight is the exquisite Baroque Library Hall with its beautiful ceiling artwork, the 68-meter-tall Astronomical Tower with its spectacular views over Prague, and the splendid Mirror Chapel with its exquisite décor.

Clementinum (Klementinum), una dintre cele mai mari colecții de clădiri istorice din Europa, găzduiește Biblioteca Națională a Republicii Cehe. Aceste frumoase clădiri baroce făceau inițial parte dintr-un colegiu iezuit și mai târziu au ajuns să găzduiască colecția de cărți iezuiți, precum și colecția din Karolinum. Biblioteca a devenit în cele din urmă proprietatea statului după expulzarea iezuiților, iar Clementinum a devenit o bibliotecă publică în 1782 la scurt timp după ce a fost constituită Biblioteca Națională. Cu peste șase milioane de cărți, colecția Clementinum este imensă și include copii ale fiecărei cărți publicate în Republica Cehă. Un punct culminant este rafinata sală a bibliotecii baroce, cu frumoasele opere de artă din tavan, Turnul Astronomic înălțime de 68 de metri, cu priveliști spectaculoase asupra Praga și splendida Capelă a Oglinzilor, cu decorul său rafinat.

The Lennon Wall

Prague’s Lennon Wall has stood since the 1980s as a tribute to former Beatle and peace campaigner John Lennon. Things got started almost immediately after the singer’s murder in 1980, when this otherwise unassuming wall near the Charles Bridge became a place for fans to demonstrate their grief, painting pictures, lyrics, and slogans attributed to the star. Despite police efforts to erase the graffiti—Czechoslovakia, as it was then, was still under communist rule—the memorial wall kept reappearing, and the site became a symbol of hope and peace for the city’s population.

Zidul Lennon din Praga se ridică din anii 1980 ca un omagiu adus fostului Beatle și militantului pentru pace John Lennon. Lucrurile au început aproape imediat după asasinarea cântărețului, în 1980, când acest zid, altfel modest, de lângă Podul Carol, a devenit un loc pentru ca fanii să-și demonstreze durerea, pictând imagini, versuri și sloganuri atribuite vedetei. În ciuda eforturilor poliției de a șterge graffiti – Cehoslovacia, așa cum era atunci, era încă sub stăpânire comunistă – zidul memorial a reapărut în continuare, iar site-ul a devenit un simbol al speranței și al păcii pentru populația orașului.

Capitale culturale europene

Helsinki – Finlanda (2000)

Helsinki lies in the far south of the country, on a peninsula that is fringed by fine natural harbours and that protrudes into the Gulf of Finland. It is the most northerly of continental European capitals. It is often called the “white city of the north” because many of its buildings are constructed of a local light-coloured granite. Helsinki was founded in 1550 by King Gustav I Vasa of Sweden and was intended to compete with the city of Reval (now Tallinn, Estonia), which lies on the southern shore of the Gulf of Finland. Helsinki was originally located at the mouth of the Vantaa River, at a point about 3 mi (4.8 km) north of its present-day location, and was moved down to the latter site in 1640 in order to obtain more open access to the sea. The town was ravaged by a plague in 1710 and burned to the ground in 1713. Its redevelopment was hindered by Russian attacks later in the 18th century, but in 1748 the settlement became more secure when a fortress, called Sveaborg by the Swedes and Suomenlinna by the Finns, was constructed on a group of small islands outside the harbour. When Russia invaded Finland in 1808, Helsinki was again burned to the ground. But in 1809 Finland was ceded to Russia, and in 1812 the Russian tsar Alexander I moved the capital of the grand duchy of Finland from Turku (Åbo) to Helsinki. Meanwhile, the centre of Helsinki had been completely reconstructed under the influence of the German-born architect Carl Ludwig Engel, who designed a number of impressive public buildings in the Neoclassical style. These include the state council building, the main building of Helsinki University, and the Lutheran cathedral, known as the Great Church, completed in 1852. All of these structures surround the broad expanse of Senate Square. Nearby rise the cupolas of the Uspenski Orthodox Cathedral, one of the few recognizable reminders of the period of Russian rule. In December 1917 Finland declared independence from Russia, and a brief but bloody civil war ensued in the capital between conservative government troops (known as the Whites) and leftist rebel units (known as the Reds) occupying the city. Conditions soon became more stabilized, with the Helsinki parliament electing Finland’s first president in 1919. In subsequent decades Helsinki developed into an important centre of trade, industry, and culture, a process interrupted only by World War II.

Helsinki se află în sudul îndepărtat al țării, pe o peninsulă care este marginită de porturi naturale fine și care iese în Golful Finlandei . Este cea mai nordică dintre capitalele europene continentale. Este adesea numit „orașul alb al nordului”, deoarece multe dintre clădirile sale sunt construite dintr-un granit local deschis la culoare. Helsinki a fost fondată în 1550 de King Gustav I Vasa din Suedia și era destinat să concureze cu orașul Reval (acumTallinn , Estonia), care se află pe malul sudic al Golfului Finlandei . Helsinki a fost inițial situat la gura râului Vantaa, la un punct aflat la aproximativ 4,8 km nord de locația actuală și a fost mutat în ultimul loc în 1640 pentru a obține un acces mai deschis la mare . Orașul a fost devastat de o ciumă în 1710 și ars la pământ în 1713. Reamenajarea sa a fost împiedicată deAtacurile rusești mai târziu în secolul al XVIII-lea, dar în 1748 așezarea a devenit mai sigură când a fost numită o cetateSveaborg de suedezi și Suomenlinna de finlandezi, a fost construit pe un grup de insule mici în afara portului. Când Rusia a invadatFinlanda în 1808, Helsinki a fost din nou ars la pământ. Dar în 1809 Finlanda a fost cedată Rusiei, iar în 1812 țarul rus Alexandru I a mutat capitala marelui ducat al Finlandei dinTurku (Åbo) la Helsinki. Între timp, centrul Helsinki a fost complet reconstruit sub influența arhitectului de origine germană Carl LudwigEngel , care a proiectat o serie de clădiri publice impresionante în stil neoclasic. Acestea includ clădirea consiliului de stat, clădirea principală a Universității Helsinki și catedrala luterană, cunoscută sub numele de Marea Biserică , finalizată în 1852. Toate aceste structuri înconjoară întinderea largă a pieței Senatului. În apropiere se ridică cupolele Catedralei Ortodoxe Uspenski, unul dintre puținele amintiri recunoscute ale perioadei stăpânirii ruse. În decembrie 1917 Finlanda a declarat independența față de Rusia și un scurt, dar sângeros război civil a urmat în capitală între trupele guvernamentale conservatoare (cunoscute ca albi) și unități rebele de stânga (cunoscute sub numele de roșii) care ocupă orașul. Condițiile s-au stabilizat în curând, parlamentul de la Helsinki alegându-l pe primul președinte al Finlandei în 1919. În deceniile următoare, Helsinki s-a transformat într-un important centru de comerț, industrie și cultură , proces întrerupt doar de cel de-al doilea război mondial .

Suomenlinna Fortress

Suomenlinna is a giant maritime fortress spread across seven islands. It was put up by the Swedes in the mid-1800s to defend their eastern territories, but Helsinki was overrun by the Russians at the start of the 19th century. It’s no exaggeration to say that almost nothing has changed at Suomenlinna since then. Amid the star-shaped walls and gun positions is a small baroque settlement that is still home to 1000 people.

Suomenlinna este o gigantică cetate maritimă răspândită pe șapte insule. A fost construit de suedezi la mijlocul anilor 1800 pentru a-și apăra teritoriile din est, dar Helsinki a fost depășit de ruși la începutul secolului al XIX-lea. Nu este o exagerare să spunem că aproape nimic nu s-a schimbat la Suomenlinna de atunci. În mijlocul zidurilor în formă de stea și a pozițiilor pistolului se află o mică așezare barocă care găzduiește încă 1000 de oameni.

Old Market Hall

Open all day, Monday to Saturday, the Old Market Hall near the water in Eteläranta has been around since 1889. Before then there had never been a permanent building for Helsinki’s markets, which were open-air and held in squares. It’s a striking byzantine revival building.

Deschisă toată ziua, de luni până sâmbătă, vechea piață din apropierea apei din Eteläranta există din 1889. Până atunci nu a existat niciodată o clădire permanentă pentru piețele din Helsinki, care erau în aer liber și ținute în piețe. Este o clădire izbitoare de renaștere bizantină.

Post Museum

A museum about the postal service sounds absolutely boring but it is surprisingly interesting. The museum highlights the history of the mail service in Finland, from ships and sleds in the 1600s to the modern-day service. There are tons of relics, galleries, and short films about how they made mail delivery work in such a sparsely populated and harsh environment.

Un muzeu despre serviciul poștal sună absolut plictisitor, dar este surprinzător de interesant. Muzeul evidențiază istoria serviciului de poștă din Finlanda, de la nave și sanie în anii 1600 până la serviciul modern. Există o mulțime de relicve, galerii și filme scurte despre modul în care au făcut să funcționeze livrarea corespondenței într-un mediu atât de puțin populat și dur.

Hietaniemi cemetery

Hietaniemi cemetery has a cross on its highest point commemorating the fallen heroes of the republic. Here, too, Marshal Mannerheim (1867-1951) is buried. Near the entrance are the graves of the politicians Risto Ryti, Väinö Tanner, T. M. Kivimäki, and E. Linkomies, who – as a condition of the 1944 armistice – were tried by a Finnish court for their political activities during the war and were given prison. A section of the cemetery is dedicated to the Jewish population of the city.

Cimitirul Hietaniemi are o cruce pe punctul său cel mai înalt, care comemorează eroii căzuți ai republicii. Și aici este îngropat mareșalul Mannerheim (1867-1951). Lângă intrare se află mormintele politicienilor Risto Ryti, Väinö Tanner, TM Kivimäki și E. Linkomies, care – ca o condiție a armistițiului din 1944 – au fost judecați de o curte finlandeză pentru activitățile lor politice în timpul războiului și au primit închisoare . O secțiune a cimitirului este dedicată populației evreiești din oraș.

Gallen-Kallela Museum

Akseli Gallen-Kallela is perhaps Finland’s most important and certainly most impressive painter. The Gallen-Kallela house was built in 1911-13. Better known as Tarvaspää, the house was opened to the public as the Gallen-Kallela Museum in 1961. It contains a permanent exhibition of Gallen-Kallela’s own paintings, graphics, and tools. The Gallen-Kallela Museum is located on the beautiful shore of Laajalahti Bay in the eastern part of Helsinki, about ten kilometers from the center.

Akseli Gallen-Kallela este probabil cel mai important și cu siguranță cel mai impresionant pictor din Finlanda. Casa Gallen-Kallela a fost construită în 1911-13. Mai cunoscută sub numele de Tarvaspää, casa a fost deschisă publicului sub numele de Muzeul Gallen-Kallela în 1961. Conține o expoziție permanentă a picturilor, graficelor și instrumentelor Gallen-Kallela. Muzeul Gallen-Kallela este situat pe malul frumos al golfului Laajalahti din partea de est a Helsinki, la aproximativ zece kilometri de centru.

Uspenski Cathedral

If you’re looking for sights that illustrate Russia’s engagement with Finland, this orthodox cathedral in Pormestarinrinne is the best place to begin. It’s the largest orthodox church in western Europe, sitting on a rise in the Katajanokka, one of Helsinki’s upmarket areas. From the outside the church’s origins are unmistakable when you see its red-brick towers and their golden cupolas. Take a look at the Iconostasis, with its set of beautiful paintings depicting the virgin Mary and an array of saints.

Dacă sunteți în căutarea unor atracții care să ilustreze angajamentul Rusiei cu Finlanda, această catedrală ortodoxă din Pormestarinrinne este cel mai bun loc pentru a începe. Este cea mai mare biserică ortodoxă din vestul Europei, așezată pe o creștere în Katajanokka, una dintre zonele de lux din Helsinki. Din exterior, originile bisericii sunt inconfundabile când îi vezi turnurile din cărămidă roșie și cupolele lor aurii. Aruncați o privire la Iconostas, cu setul său de picturi frumoase care o înfățișează pe fecioara Maria și o serie de sfinți.

Wooden House Districts

As the city grew in the early-20th century Helsinki built whole neighborhoods for its working class. Many of these have since been demolished and replaced, but several remain, and the pretty painted timber houses here are now homes for Helsinki’s bohemian and creative types. Areas like Puu Vallila have coffee shops and trendy bars, while Puu-Käpylä is loved for its green space. This suburb was intended as a Garden City, so there’s loads of greenery and the vegetable plots allocated for workers are now urban farms.

Pe măsură ce orașul a crescut la începutul secolului al XX-lea, Helsinki a construit cartiere întregi pentru clasa sa muncitoare. Multe dintre acestea au fost demolate și înlocuite de atunci, dar mai rămân câteva, iar casele din lemn destul de pictate de aici sunt acum case pentru tipurile boeme și creative ale Helsinki. Zonele precum Puu Vallila au cafenele și baruri la modă, în timp ce Puu-Käpylä este iubit pentru spațiul său verde. Această suburbie a fost concepută ca un oraș-grădină, deci există o mulțime de verdeață, iar legumele alocate lucrătorilor sunt acum ferme urbane.

National Museum of Finland

One section that will catch the interest of all comers contains the Treasure Troves. As you make your way through these nine rooms you can goggle at silver, jewellery, coins, medals and armour. Further on you’ll see how Finnish culture and society developed during the middle ages before it became part of the Swedish Kingdom and then the Russian Empire. There are also intriguing exhibits covering the country’s early civilisations, among them a neolithic offering stone and an Iron Age burial cist.

O secțiune care va atrage interesul tuturor persoanelor care vin este conținutul Comorilor. Pe măsură ce vă faceți drum prin aceste nouă camere, vă puteți ochelari de argint, bijuterii, monede, medalii și armuri. Mai departe veți vedea cum cultura și societatea finlandeză s-au dezvoltat în Evul Mediu înainte de a deveni parte a Regatului Suediei și apoi a Imperiului Rus. Există, de asemenea, exponate interesante care acoperă primele civilizații ale țării, printre care o piatră neolitică care oferă o piatră de înmormântare din epoca fierului.

Bank of Finland Museum

Admittedly, a bank museum sounds even more boring than a post museum but this museum was one of the coolest museums. First and foremost, it paints a clear and insightful picture of the history of money in Finland. They also host rotating exhibitions on all sorts of related topics (such as counterfeit money).

Desigur, un muzeu bancar pare chiar mai plictisitor decât un muzeu post, dar acest muzeu a fost unul dintre cele mai tari muzee. În primul rând, pictează o imagine clară și perspicace a istoriei banilor din Finlanda. De asemenea, găzduiesc expoziții rotative pe tot felul de subiecte conexe (cum ar fi banii falsificați).

Helsinki Cathedral

The tall green dome of this landmark soars above the Helsinki cityscape, and from the water at night itseems to shine like a beacon. When it was built it in the mid-19th century was called St. Nicholas’ Cathedral, in honour of the Russian Tsar Nicholas I who was also Grand Duke of Finland. After Finnish independence in 1917 it simply became Helsinki Cathedral.

Cupola verde înaltă a acestui reper se ridică deasupra peisajului orașului Helsinki, iar din apă noaptea pare să strălucească ca un far. Când a fost construită, la mijlocul secolului al XIX-lea a fost numită Catedrala Sf. Nicolae, în cinstea țarului rus Nicolae I, care era și Marele Duce al Finlandei. După independența finlandeză în 1917 a devenit pur și simplu catedrala din Helsinki.

Sibelius Monument and Park

Designed by Eila Hiltunen, the monument to the great Finnish composer was unveiled in 1967 and raised immediate controversy and not a little criticism. The original monument was formed by a collection of large metal pipes that creates music as the breezes blow through them. The more traditional statue of Sibelius was added later, in response to the complaints about the original concept. The monument is part of a beautiful park, one of many in the Finnish capital.

Proiectat de Eila Hiltunen, monumentul adus marelui compozitor finlandez a fost dezvăluit în 1967 și a ridicat controverse imediate și nu puține critici. Monumentul original a fost format dintr-o colecție de țevi mari de metal care creează muzică pe măsură ce briza suflă prin ele. Statuia mai tradițională a lui Sibelius a fost adăugată mai târziu, ca răspuns la plângerile legate de conceptul original. Monumentul face parte dintr-un parc frumos, unul dintre multele din capitala finlandeză.

Helsinki Railway Station

Helsinki’s strikingly original Art Nouveau railway station was designed by Eliel Saarinen and is especially notable for American tourists because its 48-meter-high clock tower was the first of several designs that finally resulted in Saarinen’s 1922 Chicago Tribune Tower – America’s first skyscraper. Inside you see the monumental arched halls and the surprisingly delicate carved panels that decorate its walls.

Gara de art Nouveau izbitor de originală din Helsinki a fost proiectată de Eliel Saarinen și este deosebit de remarcabilă pentru turiștii americani, deoarece turnul cu ceas de 48 de metri înălțime a fost primul dintre mai multe modele care au dus în cele din urmă la turnul Chicago Tribune din Saarinen din 1922 – primul zgârie-nori din America. În interior vedeți sălile monumentale arcuite și panourile sculptate surprinzător de delicate care îi decorează pereții.

Finlandia Hall

North of the Municipal Museum in Helsinki, on the shores of Töölö Bay (Töölönlahti), is the Finlandia Hall, a concert and convention hall designed by Alvar Aalto and built in 1971 with a white facade of Carrara marble. The marble is also used on the inside of the structure. Details appear in hardwoods and ceramics. The main concert auditorium is a stunning site and is famous for its acoustics. Another standout feature is the wide Venetian staircase that leads from the ground floor to both the main auditorium and chamber music hall. The Final Act of the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe was signed here in July 1975.

La nord de Muzeul Municipal din Helsinki, pe malul golfului Töölö (Töölönlahti), se află Sala Finlandia, o sală de concerte și convenții proiectată de Alvar Aalto și construită în 1971 cu o fațadă albă din marmură de Carrara. Marmura este folosită și în interiorul structurii. Detaliile apar în lemn de esență tare și ceramică. Auditoriul principal de concerte este un loc uimitor și este renumit pentru acustica sa. O altă caracteristică deosebită este scara largă venețiană care duce de la parter atât la auditoriul principal, cât și la sala de muzică de cameră. Actul final al Conferinței privind securitatea și cooperarea în Europa a fost semnat aici în iulie 1975.

Seurasaari Island

Taking up a whole island a few kilometres north of the city centre is an open-air museum that has put together a collection of typical Finnish buildings from around the country. The museum is open all summer and this is when trained guides are decked in traditional garb can tell you about life and work in rural Finland over the last 400 years. The old workshops, farms, manor houses and cottages are connected by a network of trails, making for gentle walks through woodland or next to the coast.

Ocupând o insulă întreagă la câțiva kilometri nord de centrul orașului este un muzeu în aer liber care a reunit o colecție de clădiri tipice finlandeze din întreaga țară. Muzeul este deschis toată vara și atunci când ghizii instruiți sunt îmbrăcați în haine tradiționale, vă pot spune despre viața și munca din finlanda rurală în ultimii 400 de ani. Vechile ateliere, ferme, conace și cabane sunt conectate printr-o rețea de trasee, făcând plimbări ușoare prin pădure sau lângă coastă.

Helsinki City Museum

Opened in 1911, this is an excellent city museum with plenty of descriptions and top-notch exhibits and photos.

Deschis în 1911, acesta este un muzeu excelent al orașului, cu o mulțime de descrieri și exponate de top și fotografii.

Temppeliaukio Church (Rock Church)

Temppeliaukio was the result of a post-war design competition, won by Suomalainen Brothers and was inaugurated in 1969. The building is partly underground and has been hewn from the bedrock, which forms the interior walls. Around the central dome is a circular skylight, through which sunlight floods into the main chamber during the day. Every piece of decoration and furniture inside this remarkable church was designed by the architects. Approaching it along Fredrikinkatu, the broad copper dome of Temppeliaukio Church will look like some sort of alien invasion.

Temppeliaukio a fost rezultatul unui concurs de proiectare postbelic, câștigat de Suomalainen Brothers și inaugurat în 1969. Clădirea este parțial subterană și a fost tăiată din roca de bază, care formează pereții interiori. În jurul cupolei centrale este un luminator circular, prin care lumina soarelui inundă în camera principală în timpul zilei. Fiecare piesă de decor și mobilier din interiorul acestei remarcabile biserici a fost proiectată de arhitecți. Apropiindu-se de-a lungul lui Fredrikinkatu, cupola largă din cupru a Bisericii Temppeliaukio va arăta ca un fel de invazie extraterestră.

Kiasma Museum of Contemporary Art

This museum opened in 1990 and is housed in a really unique modern building not far from the Post Museum. The collection consists of over 8,000 works. Part of the Finnish National Gallery, Kiasma is Finnish for “chiasma” which is a term that describes the crossing of nerves or tendons.

Acest muzeu a fost deschis în 1990 și este găzduit într-o clădire modernă cu adevărat unică, nu departe de Muzeul Poștal. Colecția este formată din peste 8.000 de lucrări. Parte a Galeriei Naționale Finlandeze, Kiasma este finlandeză pentru „chiasma”, care este un termen care descrie încrucișarea nervilor sau tendoanelor.

Finnish Museum of Photography

This museum houses an awesome collection of photography from both Finnish and international artists. There are rotating exhibits as well as exhibits by new and emerging photographers. There’s always something interesting here.

Acest muzeu găzduiește o colecție minunată de fotografii de la artiști finlandezi și internaționali. Există exponate rotative, precum și exponate de fotografi noi și emergenți. Există întotdeauna ceva interesant aici.

Sinebrychoff Art Museum

This is the only museum in the city that focuses on older European paintings and portraits (from the 14th-19th centuries). Housed in a building built in 1842, there are around 4,000 items in the collection. Not only are there some incredible and historic works here but part of the museum is composed of the Sinebrychoff residence itself. You can walk through the old Sinebrychoff estate and see what life was like for the affluent in Helsinki in the 19th century.

Acesta este singurul muzeu din oraș care se concentrează pe picturi și portrete europene mai vechi (din secolele XIV-XIX). Găzduit într-o clădire construită în 1842, există aproximativ 4.000 de articole în colecție. Nu numai că există câteva opere incredibile și istorice aici, dar o parte a muzeului este compusă din reședința Sinebrychoff în sine. Puteți să vă plimbați prin vechea moșie Sinebrychoff și să vedeți cum era viața pentru bogații din Helsinki în secolul al XIX-lea.

Ateneum (Finnish National Museum of Art)

On the south side of Helsinki’s Station Square is the National Museum of Art, usually known as the Ateneum after the name of the impressive Neoclassical building it occupies. The same building also houses the famed Finnish Academy of Art. Designed by Theodor Höijer and completed in 1887, the Ateneum holds Finland’s finest art collection of historic works as well as contemporary art in a gallery of its own. The Finnish section of the museum includes works by A. Edelfelt (1854-1905), E. Järnefelt (1863-1937), P. Halonen (1865-1933), and A. Gallén-Kallela (1865-1935). Among works by foreign masters are Rembrandt’s Monk Reading and Vincent van Gogh’s Street in Auvers-sur-Oise, along with 650 other international works of art. In the sculpture hall are works by the Finnish sculptors V. Vallgren, W. Aaltonen, W. Runeberg, and S. Hildén. In front of the entrance is a bronze figure of Albert Edelfelt by V. Vallgren.

Pe partea de sud a Pieței Gării din Helsinki se află Muzeul Național de Artă, cunoscut de obicei sub numele de Ateneum după numele impresionantei clădiri neoclasice pe care o ocupă. Aceeași clădire găzduiește și renumita Academie de Artă din Finlanda. Proiectat de Theodor Höijer și finalizat în 1887, Ateneum deține cea mai bună colecție de artă finlandeză de lucrări istorice, precum și artă contemporană într-o galerie proprie. Secțiunea finlandeză a muzeului include lucrări de A. Edelfelt (1854-1905), E. Järnefelt (1863-1937), P. Halonen (1865-1933) și A. Gallén-Kallela (1865-1935). Printre lucrările unor maeștri străini se numără Monk Reading din Rembrandt și strada Vincent van Gogh din Auvers-sur-Oise, alături de alte 650 de opere de artă internaționale. În sala de sculpturi sunt lucrări ale sculptorilor finlandezi V. Vallgren, W. Aaltonen, W. Runeberg și S. Hildén. În fața intrării se află o figură din bronz a lui Albert Edelfelt de V. Vallgren.

Helsinki Olympic Stadium

To the north of the Finlandia Hall, at the top of the Töölönlahti lake is the old Trade Fair Hall, and beyond this the Olympic Stadium (1938), with a 72-meter-high tower from which there is a magnificent view of the city and an elevator. Finland was awarded the Olympics prior to the advent of World War II and the Soviet invasion of the country. Cancelled during the fighting, the Olympics were finally held in Helsinki in 1952. Inside the stadium is the Finnish Sport Museum, and in front of the entrance is a statue of the great Finnish Olympic runner, Paavo Nurmi (1897-1973). To the east is the Swimming Stadium, and to the north, the Ice Stadium.

La nord de sala Finlandia, în vârful lacului Töölönlahti se află vechea sală de târguri și dincolo de aceasta Stadionul Olimpic (1938), cu un turn de 72 de metri înălțime, din care există o vedere magnifică asupra orașului. și un lift. Finlanda a primit premiile olimpice înainte de apariția celui de-al doilea război mondial și invazia sovietică a țării. Anulate în timpul luptelor, Jocurile Olimpice au avut loc în cele din urmă la Helsinki în 1952. În interiorul stadionului se află Muzeul Sportului Finlandez, iar în fața intrării se află o statuie a marelui alergător olimpic finlandez, Paavo Nurmi (1897-1973). La est se află Stadionul de înot, iar la nord, Stadionul de gheață.

Capitale culturale europene

Cracovia – Polonia (2000)

Kosciuszko Mound

Tadeusz Kościuszko was a Polish national hero, lauded for his resistance efforts against Prussia and Russia as they divided up the former Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth at the end of the 18th century. In 1794 he led a doomed but spirited insurrection against Russia, begun on Kraków’s Main Square. After Kościuszko died his body was interred beneath this 34-metre-high mound, in the style of rulers from Poland’s distant past. The mound was completed in 1823 and is at the top of the Sikornik hill 326 metres above sea level. At the base of the mound are the walls of a military citadel erected by Austrians in the mid-19th century. In the defences is the Neo-Gothic Blessed Bronisława chapel, offering entry to the mound.

Tadeusz Kościuszko a fost un erou național polonez, lăudat pentru eforturile sale de rezistență împotriva Prusiei și Rusiei, în timp ce au împărțit fosta Commonwealth polon-lituaniană la sfârșitul secolului al XVIII-lea. În 1794 a condus o insurecție condamnată, dar plină de spirit, împotriva Rusiei, începută pe piața principală din Cracovia. După moartea lui Kościuszko, trupul său a fost îngropat sub această movilă înaltă de 34 de metri, în stilul conducătorilor din trecutul îndepărtat al Poloniei. Movila a fost finalizată în 1823 și se află în vârful dealului Sikornik la 326 metri deasupra nivelului mării. La baza movilei se află zidurile unei cetăți militare ridicate de austrieci la mijlocul secolului al XIX-lea. În apărare se află capela neo-gotică binecuvântată Bronisława, care oferă intrarea în movilă.

Krakus Mound

We’ve talked about the 19th-century burial mound for Tadeusz Kościuszko, but if you want to see a real pagan tumulus it’s a manageable trip to the south of the city near Kraków Krzemionki station. This site is shrouded in mystery, as for hundreds of years it was assumed to be the 2,100-year-old burial place of the Celtic King Krakus, legendary founder of the city. But excavations have yet to reveal a grave, and the most recent artefacts buried in the mound have been dated to between the 8th and 10th centuries. It may instead have had an astronomical function, as it forms an axis with the sun and another mound, Wanda, at sunrise on the morning of the Celtic festival of Beltane.

Am vorbit despre movila funerară din secolul al XIX-lea pentru Tadeusz Kościuszko, dar dacă doriți să vedeți un adevărat tumul păgân, este o excursie ușor de gestionat în sudul orașului, lângă stația Kraków Krzemionki. Acest site este învăluit în mister, deoarece de sute de ani s-a presupus că este locul de înmormântare vechi de 2.100 de ani al regelui celtic Krakus, legendarul fondator al orașului. Dar săpăturile nu au dezvăluit încă un mormânt, iar cele mai recente artefacte îngropate în movilă au fost datate între secolele VIII și X. În schimb, ar fi putut avea o funcție astronomică, deoarece formează o axă cu soarele și o altă movilă, Wanda, la răsăritul soarelui în dimineața festivalului celtic de la Beltane.

Wawel Castle

The castle has architecture of every style from Romanesque to Baroque and was the seat of the King of Poland from the 13th century to the 17th century. A fallow period then arrived, after the capital was moved to Warsaw and the castle was damaged by the Swedish invasion in the 1650s. But since the 1940s Wawel Castle has been a national museum, presenting the riches of the Polish monarch through sumptuous interiors, painting by Veronese, Lucas Cranach the Elder and Domenico Ghirlandaio, Gobelin tapestries. One piece that must not be missed is Szczerbiec, the coronation sword for almost every monarch from 1320 to 1764.

Castelul are arhitectură de orice stil, de la romanic la baroc și a fost sediul regelui Poloniei din secolul al XIII-lea până în secolul al XVII-lea. A sosit apoi o perioadă de reziduu, după ce capitala a fost mutată la Varșovia și castelul a fost deteriorat de invazia suedeză din anii 1650. Dar, din anii 1940, Castelul Wawel a fost un muzeu național, prezentând bogățiile monarhului polonez prin interioare somptuoase, pictate de Veronese, Lucas Cranach cel Bătrân și Domenico Ghirlandaio, tapiserii Gobelin. O piesă care nu trebuie ratată este Szczerbiec, sabia de încoronare pentru aproape fiecare monarh din 1320 până în 1764.

Wawel Cathedral

A monument of real national importance, Wawel Cathedral is the site of the coronation and burial of numerous Polish monarchs, national heroes and cultural figures. The current building was completed in the 14th century after the previous two were destroyed or burned down. Sigismund’s Chapel, the funerary chapel for the last of members of the Jagiellonian line, is a wonder of 16th-century Tuscan Renaissance architecture: Under a golden dome the chapel is rich with detailed carved ornamentation, stuccowork and tomb monuments by some of the leading sculptors of the day. The cathedral’s status is also underlined by the mausoleum to the Polish patron saint St Stanislaus, in which his silver sarcophagus rests under an exuberant canopy with gilded columns.

Monument cu o importanță națională reală, Catedrala Wawel este locul încoronării și înmormântării a numeroși monarhi polonezi, eroi naționali și figuri culturale. Clădirea actuală a fost finalizată în secolul al XIV-lea după ce cele două anterioare au fost distruse sau arse. Capela lui Sigismund, capela funerară pentru ultimii membri ai liniei Jagielloniene, este o minune a arhitecturii renascentiste toscane din secolul al XVI-lea: Sub o cupolă aurie, capela este bogată cu ornamente sculptate detaliate, lucrări de sculptură și monumente funerare de către unii dintre cei mai importanți sculptori a zilei. Statutul catedralei este, de asemenea, subliniat de mausoleu către patronul polonez Sf. Stanislau, în care sarcofagul său de argint se odihnește sub un baldachin exuberant cu coloane aurite.

Schindler’s Factory

You may be aware that a lot of Steven Spielberg’s 1993 movie Schindler’s List was filmed in Kraków. And since 2010 it has been possible to go inside the administration building of the enamelware factory he took over after the invasion in 1939.  Here you can peruse accounts of Schindler’s book-cooking that helped save more than 1,000 Jewish lives, the original desk from Schindler’s office, his “list” and photos of survivors. But there’s also a wider exhibition about the occupation of Kraków in the Second World War: You’ll find reconstructions of a dwelling in the ghetto, underground tunnels used by the resistance and basements where Jews would be hidden, all with genuine artefacts from the 40s to add some depth.

Este posibil să știți că o mulțime din filmul lui Steven Spielberg, Schindler’s List, din 1993, a fost filmat la Cracovia. Și din 2010 a fost posibil să intrați în clădirea administrativă a fabricii de smalțuri pe care a preluat-o după invazia din 1939. Aici puteți analiza relatările despre gătitul de cărți al lui Schindler care a ajutat la salvarea a peste 1.000 de vieți evreiești, biroul original de la Schindler’s. biroul, „lista” sa și fotografiile supraviețuitorilor. Dar există, de asemenea, o expoziție mai amplă despre ocupația Cracoviei în cel de-al doilea război mondial: veți găsi reconstrucții ale unei locuințe în ghetou, tuneluri subterane utilizate de rezistență și subsoluri unde evreii ar fi ascunși, toate cu artefacte autentice din anii 40 pentru a adăuga o oarecare adâncime.

Cloth Hall

One of the symbols for Kraków, the Cloth Hall has existed in some form since the 1200s, and the Renaissance monument at the centre of the Main Square today is from the 1500s. A trading hall for 800 years, the cloth hall testifies to Kraków’s position in the middle of Central Europe’s Medieval commercial network. Most of the goods sold here came from the east, like spices, silk, wax and leather.

Unul dintre simbolurile pentru Cracovia, Sala de pânză a existat într-o anumită formă încă din anii 1200, iar monumentul renascentist din centrul pieței principale este astăzi din anii 1500. O sală de tranzacționare de 800 de ani, sala de pânză mărturisește poziția Cracoviei în mijlocul rețelei comerciale medievale din Europa Centrală. Majoritatea bunurilor vândute aici provin din est, precum condimentele, mătasea, ceara și pielea.

Polish Aviation Museum

East of the old town, the old Kraków-Rakowice-Czyżyny Airport dates back to 1912 and was commissioned for the Austro-Hungarian Empire. Soon after the airport closed in 1963 a museum opened on the site, initially using the airport’s old hangars. They are now complemented by an exhibition hall that opened in 2010 and has lots of multimedia and hands-on exhibits. The Polish Aviation Museum is regularly listed as one of the best in the world, with more than 200 aircraft including fighter jets, bombers, gliders, helicopters and engines from both sides of the Iron Curtain but especially MiGs, Yaks and Sukhois. Rarest of all though are the Polish pre-war aircraft like the PZL P.11, the only surviving example in the world.

La est de orașul vechi, vechiul aeroport Cracovia-Rakowice-Czyżyny datează din 1912 și a fost comandat pentru Imperiul Austro-Ungar. La scurt timp după închiderea aeroportului, în 1963, un muzeu a fost deschis pe site, folosind inițial vechile hangare ale aeroportului. Acestea sunt acum completate de o sală de expoziții care a fost deschisă în 2010 și are o mulțime de expoziții multimedia și practice. Muzeul Polonez al Aviației este cotat în mod regulat ca unul dintre cele mai bune din lume, cu peste 200 de avioane, inclusiv avioane de luptă, bombardiere, planori, elicoptere și motoare de pe ambele părți ale Cortinei de Fier, dar mai ales MiGs, Yaks și Sukhois. Cele mai rare dintre toate sunt însă avioanele poloneze de dinainte de război precum PZL P.11, singurul exemplu care a supraviețuit în lume.

Stare Miasto (Old Town)

Kraków’s oldest quarter is a planned city drawn up in 1257 just after the Mongol invasion laid everything to waste. The whole city was encircled by walls, now a belt of parkland, and hoisted above its southernmost point was the mighty royal ensemble on Wawel Hill.

Cel mai vechi cartier din Cracovia este un oraș planificat întocmit în 1257 chiar după ce invazia mongolă a distrus totul. Întregul oraș era înconjurat de ziduri, acum o centură de parc, iar deasupra punctului său sudic era ridicat puternicul ansamblu regal de pe dealul Wawel.

St Mary’s Basilica

Built on the foundations of an earlier church also levelled by the Mongols, this Brick Gothic wonder is from the beginning of the 14th century, and would be reworked over the next few decades. Within, the stained glass windows and the gold stars on the blue background in the vaults are sublime. But the star of the show is the largest Gothic altarpiece in the world. Completed in 1484, it was carved over seven years by German sculptor Veit Stoss, with lime-wood sculpted figures up to 2.7 metres high.

Construită pe fundațiile unei biserici anterioare nivelate și de mongoli, această minune gotică din cărămidă este de la începutul secolului al XIV-lea și ar fi refăcută în următoarele decenii. În interior, vitraliile și stelele aurii de pe fundalul albastru din bolți sunt sublime. Dar vedeta spectacolului este cea mai mare altar gotic din lume. Finalizat în 1484, a fost sculptat peste șapte ani de sculptorul german Veit Stoss, cu figuri sculptate în lemn de tei de până la 2,7 metri înălțime.

Museum of the Jagiellonian University – Collegium Maius

Established in the 1300s, this is also Poland’s oldest university building, reconstructed in the Late-Gothic style in the following century. Copernicus was a student here at the end of the 1400s, and there’s a room with instruments and globes from the time he was alive, so there’s a good chance he laid his hands on them. On the tour you’ll scurry through lecture rooms, ceremonial halls, professor’s quarters, a fantastical library and a museum, which has the oldest globe in the world to depict the Americas.

Înființată în anii 1300, aceasta este și cea mai veche clădire universitară din Polonia, reconstruită în stilul gotic târziu în secolul următor. Copernic a fost student aici la sfârșitul anilor 1400 și există o cameră cu instrumente și globuri de pe vremea când trăia, așa că există șanse mari să pună mâna pe ele. În cadrul turului, vă veți plimba prin săli de conferințe, săli de ceremonie, încăperi pentru profesori, o bibliotecă fantastică și un muzeu, care are cel mai vechi glob din lume care descrie America.

Dragon’s Den (Smocza Jama)

Burrowing through Wawel is Poland’s most famous cave, a karst formation known to all for its legendary dragon. You can meet a sculpture of this dragon in front of the entrance, installed in 1972 and even breathing fire. According to folklore the dragon was slain by King Krakus before he founded the city. At the entrance to the cathedral there are bones hanging from a chain dating to the Ice Age and claimed to belong to the dragon.

Burrowing prin Wawel este cea mai faimoasă peșteră din Polonia, o formațiune carstică cunoscută de toți pentru legendarul său dragon. Puteți întâlni o sculptură a acestui dragon în fața intrării, instalată în 1972 și chiar respirând foc. Conform folclorului, balaurul a fost ucis de regele Krakus înainte de a fonda orașul. La intrarea în catedrală există oase atârnate de un lanț datând din epoca de gheață și care pretind că aparțin dragonului.

Kazimierz

South of the Old Town is a district that was a separate city for 500 years up to the 19th century. Kazimierz was founded by Casimir III the Great, taking his name and bestowed the status of a Royal City. After a fire in Kraków at the end of the 15th century King Jan I Olbracht moved the entire Jewish population to Kazimierz. They occupied a space within an interior wall, dividing Kazimierz between Jewish and ethnic Poles. And although that wall was pulled down more than 200 years ago, the eastern streets of Kazimierz have a Jewish flavour that has been revived since the late 1980s. A lot of Schindler’s List was filmed in this neighbourhood, which once again has synagogues, bookshops, restaurants and bars for a small but dynamic Jewish community.

La sud de orașul vechi este un cartier care a fost un oraș separat timp de 500 de ani până în secolul al XIX-lea. Kazimierz a fost fondat de Casimir al III-lea cel Mare, luându-și numele și acordând statutul de oraș regal. După un incendiu din Cracovia la sfârșitul secolului al XV-lea, regele Jan I Olbracht a mutat întreaga populație evreiască la Kazimierz. Au ocupat un spațiu în interiorul unui perete interior, împărțind Kazimierz între polonezii evrei și etnici. Și, deși acel zid a fost doborât în urmă cu mai bine de 200 de ani, străzile din estul Kazimierz au o aromă evreiască care a fost reînviată de la sfârșitul anilor 1980. O mulțime din Lista lui Schindler a fost filmată în acest cartier, care are din nou sinagogi, librării, restaurante și baruri pentru o comunitate evreiască mică, dar dinamică.

Rynek Underground

Also maintained by the Historical Museum is a museum beneath the Main Square, recapturing life in Kraków’s Old Town 700 years ago. The attraction is an archaeological site with a total area of 6,000 square metres, showing the foundations of the previous Cloth Hall. In these galleries are footbridges over archaeological digs, as well as electronic displays, touch-screen computers and holograms. A trove of artefacts has been uncovered four metres under the city, like Tatar arrowheads, clay figurines, leather shoes, dice, beads, medallions and a 693 kg lump of commercial lead. There’s much more besides, like real graves from an 11th-century cemetery, reconstructions of workshops and maps to explain the complicated flow of goods in and out of the city when it traded with the Hanseatic League.

De asemenea, întreținut de Muzeul Istoric se află un muzeu de sub Piața principală, care recapitează viața în orașul vechi din Cracovia în urmă cu 700 de ani. Atracția este un sit arheologic cu o suprafață totală de 6.000 de metri pătrați, care arată bazele vechii haine de pânză. În aceste galerii sunt poduri peste săpături arheologice, precum și afișaje electronice, computere cu ecran tactil și holograme. O mulțime de artefacte au fost descoperite la patru metri sub oraș, cum ar fi vârfurile săgeții tătare, figurine din lut, pantofi din piele, zaruri, mărgele, medalioane și o bucată de plumb comercial de 693 kg. În plus, există multe altele, cum ar fi mormintele adevărate dintr-un cimitir din secolul al XI-lea, reconstrucții de ateliere și hărți pentru a explica fluxul complicat de mărfuri în și în afara orașului atunci când tranzacționa cu Liga Hanseatică.

Corpus Christi Church

Casimir III the Great founded this Gothic basilica in the Kazimierz district in 1335. And while the original pointed arches and vaults are still in place today, the fittings and decoration are almost all from the Mannerist and Baroque period. Corpus Christi has some of the finest and most harmonious Baroque ornamentation in Poland. The stalls in the choir are exceptional, carved in 1624-32 and embellished with sculptures and paintings of saints. The altar was completed in 1637, and gleams with giltwood that surrounds paintings by the Venetian court artist Tommaso Dolabella.

Casimir al III-lea cel Mare a fondat această bazilică gotică în cartierul Kazimierz în 1335. Și în timp ce arcurile ascuțite și bolțile originale sunt încă în vigoare astăzi, armăturile și decorul sunt aproape toate din perioada manieristă și barocă. Corpus Christi are unele dintre cele mai fine și armonioase ornamentații baroce din Polonia. Standurile din cor sunt excepționale, sculptate în 1624-32 și înfrumusețate cu sculpturi și picturi ale sfinților. Altarul a fost finalizat în 1637 și strălucește cu lemn aurit care înconjoară picturile artistului curții venețiene Tommaso Dolabella.

Stained Glass Workshop and Museum

More than a static museum, this attraction allows you to watch stained glass craftsmen making use of centuries-old skills. The workshop was founded by the architect Stanisław Gabriel Żeleński in 1902 and moved into the current premises that he designed in 1906. This studio was intended as a gathering place for Poland’s top glass painters, who were in high demand during the Art Nouveau years. More than 200 windows produced by this workshop adorn buildings around Krakow today, most famously in Wawel and at the Franciscan Church.

Mai mult decât un muzeu static, această atracție vă permite să urmăriți meșterii din vitralii folosind abilități vechi de secole. Atelierul a fost fondat de arhitectul Stanisław Gabriel Żeleński în 1902 și s-a mutat în incinta actuală pe care a proiectat-o în 1906. Acest studio a fost conceput ca un loc de adunare pentru cei mai buni pictori de sticlă din Polonia, care erau foarte solicitați în perioada Art Nouveau. Peste 200 de ferestre produse de acest atelier împodobesc astăzi clădiri din jurul Cracoviei, cel mai faimos în Wawel și la Biserica Franciscană.

Manggha

You may not have counted on immersing yourself in Japanese culture in Kraków, but that’s just what’s on the menu at this museum across the water from Wawel. The museum and cultural centre was the initiative of film director Andrzej Wajda: He became enamoured of Japanese art after viewing the collection assembled by art critic Feliks Jasieński in the 1940s. More than four decades later Wajda, on receiving a film prize, opted to donate the money to set up a new museum for the collection. Manggha opened in 1994 and Japanese architect Arata Isozaki’s airy, oscillating design has dated very well. There are now 7,000 pieces in the collection, counting woodcuts, paintings, ceramics, furniture and samurai armour.

Poate că nu v-ați bazat pe scufundarea în cultura japoneză din Cracovia, dar asta este exact ceea ce este în meniul acestui muzeu de peste apă de la Wawel. Muzeul și centrul cultural au fost inițiativa regizorului de film Andrzej Wajda: s-a îndrăgostit de arta japoneză după ce a văzut colecția adunată de criticul de artă Feliks Jasieński în anii 1940 Mai mult de patru decenii mai târziu, Wajda, primind un premiu de film, a optat pentru a dona banii pentru a înființa un nou muzeu pentru colecție. Manggha a fost deschis în 1994, iar designul aerisit și oscilant al arhitectului japonez Arata Isozaki a datat foarte bine. Acum sunt 7.000 de piese în colecție, numărând gravuri pe lemn, picturi, ceramică, mobilier și armuri samurai.

Ghetto Heroes Square

The Podgórze district, opposite Kazimierz on the right bank of the Vistula was the location for the Kraków ghetto, from 1941 until it was “liquidated” in 1943. The largest public space, previously known as Plac Zgody, was filled throughout that time with people trying to get some relief from the cramped conditions in the surrounding tenements. Haunting photographs from the deportations show furniture and bundles of belongings abandoned on the square: Unspeakable tragedies happened on this place, whether it was families being separated for the last time or executions. When the square was redesigned in 2005, 70 large chairs were installed on the square in memory of the victims of Kraków ghetto, driving home the sense of emptiness and recalling the images of the deportations.

Cartierul Podgórze, vizavi de Kazimierz, pe malul drept al Vistulei, a fost locația ghetoului din Cracovia, din 1941 până când a fost „lichidată” în 1943. Cel mai mare spațiu public, cunoscut anterior sub numele de Plac Zgody, a fost umplut în tot acest timp cu oameni încercând să obțină o oarecare ușurare de la condițiile înghesuite din locuințele din jur. Fotografiile bântuite din deportări arată mobilier și pachete de bunuri abandonate pe piață: Tragedii de nedescris s-au întâmplat pe acest loc, indiferent dacă a fost vorba despre familii separate pentru ultima dată sau execuții. Când piața a fost reproiectată în 2005, 70 de scaune mari au fost instalate pe piață în memoria victimelor ghetoului din Cracovia, ducând acasă senzația de gol și amintind imaginile deportărilor.

Tyniec Abbey

Ten kilometres southwest of the Old Town, but still belonging to Kraków, Tyniec is a village on a limestone canyon by the Vistula. You’ll know why you made the trip when you catch sight of the towers of this Benedictine Abbey posted on the clifftop. This is a functioning monastery, but you can go on a guided tour and visit a small museum, displaying objects from recent excavations. Tyniec Abbey dates to the 11th century, and has been left with a Baroque design after being ransacked by Tatars and Czechs in the 1300s and then the Swedes in the 17th century.

Zece kilometri sud-vest de orașul vechi, dar aparținând totuși Cracoviei, Tyniec este un sat situat pe un canion de calcar lângă Vistula. Veți ști de ce ați făcut călătoria când vedeți turnurile acestei mănăstiri benedictine postate pe vârful stâncii. Aceasta este o mănăstire funcțională, dar puteți face un tur ghidat și puteți vizita un mic muzeu, expunând obiecte din săpăturile recente. Abația Tyniec datează din secolul al XI-lea și a rămas cu un design baroc după ce a fost jefuit de tătari și cehi în anii 1300 și apoi de suedezi în secolul al XVII-lea.

Franciscan Church

This monastery church took shape in the aftermath of the Mongol Invasion, and was consecrated around the middle of the 13th century. It was the first example of Kraków’s hallmark brick and sandstone architecture, even if only the rib vaults remain from that initial building. The church suffered a near-catastrophic fire in 1850, but that handed an opportunity to the artist Stanisław Wyspiański to work his magic. The founder of the Young Poland movement, Wyspiański produced eight Art Nouveau stained glass windows for the apse and choir, and painted stunning murals with geometric and floral motifs in the transept. These are accompanied by more traditional paintings in the nave and chancel, by the landscape and historicist artists Władysław Rossowski and Tadeusz Popiel.

Această biserică a mănăstirii a luat forma în urma invaziei mongole și a fost sfințită în jurul mijlocului secolului al XIII-lea. A fost primul exemplu de arhitectură distinctivă din cărămidă și gresie din Cracovia, chiar dacă din acea clădire inițială rămân doar bolțile nervurate. Biserica a suferit un incendiu aproape catastrofal în 1850, dar aceasta a oferit artistului Stanisław Wyspiański o ocazie de a-și lucra magia. Fondatorul mișcării tinere Polonia, Wyspiański a produs opt vitralii Art Nouveau pentru absidă și cor și a pictat picturi murale uimitoare cu motive geometrice și florale în transept. Acestea sunt însoțite de picturi mai tradiționale în naos și cor, de peisajul și artiștii istoriciști Władysław Rossowski și Tadeusz Popiel.

Saints Peter and Paul Church

Completed in just 20 years at the start of the 17th century, this Mannerist and Baroque church was the work of Italians, both inside and out. Giovanni Maria Bernardoni finalised the initial plan, which was modified by another Italian Giovanni Battista Trevano, who was responsible for the dome, facade and much of the interior. The facade is fashioned from dolomite and has statues of saints in its niches and on the pedestals in front. Another Italian Giovanni Battista Falconi produced the vibrant ornamental stuccowork in the interior, as well as the scenes from the life of St Peter and St Paul in the apse. The church has also had a Foucault’s Pendulum since 1949. This is hung from a height of 46.5 metres.

Finalizată în doar 20 de ani, la începutul secolului al XVII-lea, această biserică manieristă și barocă a fost opera italienilor, atât în ​​interior, cât și în exterior. Giovanni Maria Bernardoni a finalizat planul inițial, care a fost modificat de un alt italian Giovanni Battista Trevano, care era responsabil cu cupola, fațada și o mare parte din interior. Fațada este construită din dolomită și are statui de sfinți în nișele sale și pe piedestalele din față. Un alt italian Giovanni Battista Falconi a produs vibrantele lucrări ornamentale din interior, precum și scenele din viața Sf. Petru și Sf. Pavel din absidă. Biserica are, de asemenea, un pendul Foucault din 1949. Acesta este atârnat de la o înălțime de 46,5 metri.

Capitale culturale europene

Bruxelles – Belgia (2000)

Brussels ( Belgium ) is considered the de facto capital of the European Union, having a long history of hosting a number of principal EU institutions within its European Quarter . The EU has no official capital, and no plans to declare one, but Brussels hosts the official seats of the European Commission, Council of the European Union, and European Council, as well as a seat (officially the second seat but de facto the most important one) of the European Parliament.

Bruxelles (Belgia) este considerată capitala de facto a Uniunii Europene, având o lungă istorie de găzduire a mai multor instituții principale ale UE în cartierul său european. UE nu are capitala oficiala și nu intenționează să o declare, dar Bruxelles găzduiește locurile oficiale ale Comisiei Europene, ale Consiliului Uniunii Europene și ale Consiliului European, precum și un loc (oficial al doilea loc, dar de facto cel mai importantă) a Parlamentului European.

Broodhuis

The Flemish name of this building translates to “The Bread House” due to the many centuries that the city’s bread market was held here. Fittingly, the building is now home to a museum focusing on the history of the city of Brussels. The exhibitions range from the middle ages to the present day and are set over multiple floors.

Numele flamand al acestei clădiri se traduce prin „Casa pâinii” datorită multor secole pe care piața de pâine din oraș a avut-o aici. În mod potrivit, clădirea găzduiește acum un muzeu care se concentrează pe istoria orașului Bruxelles. Expozițiile variază de la evul mediu până în prezent și sunt amplasate pe mai multe etaje.

Famous building: Maison du Roi (The King's House or Het Br… | Flickr

Van Buuren Museum and Gardens

Also rocking an extraordinary Art Deco interior, the Van Buuren Museum and Gardens is the result of two lifetimes worth of fierce patronage. David and Alice van Buuren spent three decades in the 20th century transforming their Uccle home into a total work of art, complete with an Erik Satie piano, Van Gogh paintings and the Heart Garden.

De asemenea, zguduind un interior Art Deco extraordinar, Muzeul și Grădinile Van Buuren este rezultatul a două vieți în valoare de patronaj acerb. David și Alice van Buuren au petrecut trei decenii în secolul al XX-lea transformându-și casa Uccle într-o operă totală de artă, completată cu un pian Erik Satie, tablouri Van Gogh și Grădina Inimii.

St Michael and St Gudula Cathedral

It’s the royals’ favoured coronation, marriage and state funeral spot, a seasonal go-to for Christmas carol concerts and “the purest flowering of the Gothic style” according to Victor Hugo. The monumental St Michael and St Gudula Cathedral atop Treurenberg Hill may have taken 300 years to complete, but its singular beauty now reigns supreme over Brussels’s skyline.

Este locul de încoronare, căsătorie și înmormântare de stat preferat de membrii familiei, un loc de joacă sezonier pentru concertele de colinde de Crăciun și „cea mai pură înflorire a stilului gotic”, potrivit lui Victor Hugo. Monumentalele Catedrale Sf. Mihail și Sf. Gudula de pe dealul Treurenberg ar fi putut dura 300 de ani până la finalizare, dar frumusețea sa singulară domnește acum asupra orizontului Bruxelles-ului.

Palais Royal

Although the royal family of Belgium now spend their lives at Laeken, the Royal Palace in Brussels remains as their official residence. The most notable room in the palace has a ceiling covered in the wings of beetles, forming an oddly beautiful mosaic.

Deși familia regală a Belgiei își petrece acum viața la Laeken, Palatul Regal din Bruxelles rămâne reședința lor oficială. Cea mai notabilă cameră din palat are un tavan acoperit în aripile gândacilor, formând un mozaic ciudat de frumos.

Le Botanique

Le Botanique was historically the botanical gardens of the city and still attracts a large number of guests in the modern day. The greenhouse, which dates back to the 19th Century, now regularly plays host to a range of performing arts and makes the place feel like more of a cultural centre than just a garden.

Le Botanique a fost istoric grădinile botanice ale orașului și atrage încă un număr mare de oaspeți în zilele moderne. Sera, care datează din secolul al XIX-lea, acum găzduiește în mod regulat o gamă largă de arte spectacol și face ca locul să se simtă mai degrabă ca un centru cultural decât doar o grădină.

Villa Empain

By the ’20s, Art Nouveau had made room for the more streamlined beauty of Art Deco, and again, Belgium was one of the first to embrace this daring new architectural style. With severe symmetry and rich materials, Villa Empain by Swiss architect Michel Polak is one of the movement’s masterpieces. Thanks to the Boghossian Foundation, the sprawling mansion is now open to the public and houses a culture and arts centre geared towards creating a dialogue between West and East.

Până în anii ’20, Art Nouveau făcuse loc pentru frumusețea mai raționalizată a Art Deco și, din nou, Belgia a fost una dintre primele care a îmbrățișat acest nou și îndrăzneț stil arhitectural. Cu o simetrie severă și materiale bogate, Villa Empain de arhitectul elvețian Michel Polak este una dintre capodoperele mișcării. Datorită Fundației Boghossian, conacul întins este acum deschis publicului și găzduiește un centru de cultură și arte orientat spre crearea unui dialog între Vest și Est.

Atomium

The Atomium, located in Heysel Park in the West of the city, is a jaw dropping model of an atom which just happens to be a whopping 100 metres tall. The sculpture was made in 1958 to welcome a new and atomic age to Belgium and is an accurate depiction of an iron molecule except that it is about 165 billion times larger.

Atomium, situat în Parcul Heysel, în vestul orașului, este un model de cădere a unui atom care se întâmplă să aibă o înălțime enormă de 100 de metri. Sculptura a fost realizată în 1958 pentru a întâmpina o nouă eră atomică în Belgia și reprezintă o descriere exactă a unei molecule de fier, cu excepția faptului că este de aproximativ 165 miliarde de ori mai mare.

Train World and Schaerbeek Station

Train enthusiasts will find the oldest preserved European locomotive and a lot more rolling gems at Train World. The place of their gathering since 2015 is the Schaerbeek Station, a stone-brick monument that has kept its authentic ticket hall to provide you with entry to the museum and a thorough understanding of the pioneering role Belgium played in the early railway industry.

Pasionații de trenuri vor găsi cea mai veche locomotivă europeană conservată și multe alte pietre prețioase la Train World. Locul adunării lor din 2015 este Gara Schaerbeek, un monument din cărămidă de piatră care și-a păstrat sala de bilete autentică pentru a vă oferi intrarea în muzeu și o înțelegere aprofundată a rolului de pionierat pe care Belgia l-a jucat în industria feroviară timpurie.

Musee Royaux Des Beaux Arts

The museum incorporates collections of modern and ancient art across a range of styles. Famous works at the museum include the Fall of Icarus and various paintings by the Antwerpen painter Peter Rubens. There are also works by Anthony Van Dyke and Hans Memling on display.

Muzeul încorporează colecții de artă modernă și antică într-o serie de stiluri. Lucrările celebre ale muzeului includ Căderea lui Icar și diverse picturi ale pictorului Antwerpen Peter Rubens. Sunt expuse și lucrări ale lui Anthony Van Dyke și Hans Memling.

Notre Dame Du Sablon

This spectacular Gothic cathedral began life in the 14th Century when it was used as a chapel by the Archer’s Guild. It was extensively expanded in the next century to the popularity and supposed healing powers of the Madonna statue located within. The statue was allegedly stolen by a husband and wife team of thieves in a rowing boat. The location of the statue is unknown but the story is commemorated by a lifesize model inside the building.

Această catedrală gotică spectaculoasă a început viața în secolul al XIV-lea, când a fost folosită drept capelă de către Archer’s Guild. A fost extins în secolul următor datorita popularitatii și presupuselor puteri de vindecare ale statuii Madonnei situate în interior. Statuia ar fi fost furată de o echipă de hoți de soț și soție într-o barcă cu vâsle. Locația statuii este necunoscută, dar povestea este comemorată de un model în mărime naturală în interiorul clădirii.

MIMA

A scion in the Brussels museum family since April 2016, the Millennium Iconoclast Museum of Art (MIMA) is determined to haul what they’ve dubbed ‘culture 2.0’ out of the shadowy periphery and into the limelight. Located inside the old Belle-Vue breweries and overlooking the canal, the MIMA showcases everything from graffiti to digital and subculture arts.

Scion al familiei muzeului din Bruxelles din aprilie 2016, Muzeul de Artă Iconoclast al Mileniului (MIMA) este hotărât să scoată ceea ce au numit „cultura 2.0” din periferia umbroasă și în centrul atenției. Situat în interiorul vechilor fabrici de bere Belle-Vue și cu vedere la canal, MIMA prezintă totul, de la graffiti la arte digitale și subculturale.

Old England Building

The Old England Building in Brussels was formerly a department store and was built in the very last year of the 19th Century. The building attracts visitors because of its stunning facade but also due to the fascinating and vast musical museum it houses. The museum is home to more than 2000 musical instruments with historic value and gives guests a chance to listen to many of them.

Clădirea Old England din Bruxelles a fost anterior un magazin universal și a fost construită chiar în ultimul an al secolului al XIX-lea. Clădirea atrage vizitatori datorită fațadei sale uimitoare, dar și datorită muzeului muzical fascinant și vast pe care îl găzduiește. Muzeul găzduiește peste 2000 de instrumente muzicale cu valoare istorică și oferă oaspeților șansa de a le asculta pe multe dintre ele.

Galeries Royales Saint-Hubert

The Galeries Royales Saint-Hubert is split up into three magnificent halls – the King’s Gallery, the Queen’s Gallery and the Princes’ Gallery – and provides a lush setting for a good window shop.

Galeries Royales Saint-Hubert este împărțit în trei săli magnifice – Galeria Regelui, Galeria Reginei și Galeria Prinților – și oferă un cadru luxuriant pentru o vitrină bună.

Cinquantenaire Park

The most regal-looking park in all of Brussels is again a brainchild of Leopold II. The Cinquantenaire Park’s grand triumphal arch commemorates Belgium’s 50th anniversary as a nation, and the historic goodness continues in three sprawling museums (Autoworld, the Royal Military Museum and the Cinquantenaire Museum).

Cel mai regal parc din Bruxelles este din nou creat de Leopold al II-lea. Marele arc de triumf al Parcului Cinquantenaire comemorează a 50-a aniversare a Belgiei ca națiune, iar bunătatea istorică continuă în trei muzee întinse (Autoworld, Muzeul Militar Regal și Muzeul Cinquantenaire).

Magritte Museum and Magritte House Museum

One focusses on showcasing the acclaimed paintings by Belgium’s most famed surrealist; the other on giving the public a sense of his private life. While the Magritte Museum on the Mont des Arts boasts essential works such as Empire of Light and Scheherazade, the Magritte House Museum, in the artist’s former Jette home, gives visitors an idea of how René Magritte lived and worked.

Unul se concentrează pe prezentarea picturilor aclamate de cel mai faimos suprarealist din Belgia; cealaltă, oferind publicului un sentiment al vieții sale private. În timp ce Muzeul Magritte de pe Mont des Arts se mândrește cu lucrări esențiale precum Imperiul Luminii și Șeherezada, Muzeul Casa Magritte, aflat în fosta casă Jette a artistului, oferă vizitatorilor o idee despre modul în care a trăit și a lucrat René Magritte.

Capitale culturale europene

Bergen – Norvegia (2000)

Bryggen

In their current form, warehouses in the Bryggen district („keys”, „pontoon”) were built in 1702, but the first German merchants settled there as early as the 1230s. Foreigners were not allowed to live in the city, with except for the summer season, but the Germans received special permission to stay in the winter from 1278. Trade in Bergen was thus dominated by the Germans, who entered the Hanseatic League. The German office in Bergen was run by a council elected by German merchants, who had a parallel company to the Norwegian one. The main distinction was that the Germans were all men, not allowed to marry. Disciples came from Germany, and at a time when social barriers were quite strict, they could climb the social ladder, after which they returned to Germany where they started a family. In 1615 there were 119 German houses in Bryggen, but in 1736 there were only 17. The German office was closed in 1754, and replaced by the Norwegian Office – later called the Bergen Office – which was closed in 1899. Between 1172 and 1702 Bryggen burned 7 times. Each time, the buildings were rebuilt according to the original model. In 1927, the neighborhood was declared a national heritage site, but was destroyed for the most part by a powerful explosion in 1944, and two other fires (1955 and 1958).

În forma lor actuală, depozitele de mărfuri din cartierul Bryggen („chei”, „ponton”) au fost construite în 1702, dar primii comercianți germani s-au stabilit acolo deja prin anii 1230. Străinii nu aveau voie să locuiască în oraș, cu excepția sezonului de vară, dar germanii au primit permisiune specială să stea și iarna începând cu anul 1278. Comerțul din Bergen a fost astfel dominat de germani, care au intrat în Liga Hanseatică. Biroul German din Bergen era condus de un consiliu ales de comercianții germani, care aveau o societate paralelă celei norvegiene. Distincția principală era faptul că germanii erau toți bărbați, neavând voie să se căsătorească. Ucenici veneau din Germania, și într-un timp când barierele sociale erau destul de stricte, puteau să urce pe scara socială, după care se întorceau în Germania unde își întemeiau familie. În 1615 erau 119 case germane în Bryggen, dar în 1736 mai erau doar 17. Biroul german a fost închis în 1754, și înlocuit cu Biroul Norvegian- numit mai târziu Biroul Bergen- care a fost închis în 1899. Între 1172 și 1702 Bryggen a ars de 7 ori. Fiecare dată, clădirile au fost reconstruite după modelul original. În 1927, cartierul a fost numit patrimoniu național, dar a fost distrus în marea sa majoritate de o explozie puternică în 1944, și de alte două incendii (1955 și 1958).

St Mary’s Church

The oldest building in Bergen is by the Schøtstuene and is an unusual example of Romanesque architecture in Norway. In fact, no other church in Norway has a western facade like this, with square, unadorned towers and semicircular windows typical of the Romanesque style. St Mary’s Church would have been erected in the middle of the 12th century. In the choir the pointed windows are Gothic and suggest that this part of the church was rebuilt after a fire in 1248. At the southern portal you can see Romanesque bestial and foliate motifs on the capitals in the jambs. The church’s greatest treasure though is its altarpiece, carved in the Hanseatic capital, Lübeck in the 15th century. The triptych shows the Madonna with Child at the centre, flanked by St Olav and St Antony on the right and St Catharine and St Dorothy on the left.

Cea mai veche clădire din Bergen se află lângă Schøtstuene și este un exemplu neobișnuit de arhitectură romanică în Norvegia. De fapt, nicio altă biserică din Norvegia nu are o fațadă vestică ca aceasta, cu turnuri pătrate, fără ornamente și ferestre semicirculare tipice stilului romanic. Biserica Sf. Maria ar fi fost ridicată la mijlocul secolului al XII-lea. În cor ferestrele ascuțite sunt gotice și sugerează că această porțiune a bisericii a fost reconstruită după un incendiu în 1248. La portalul sudic puteți vedea motive romane bestiale și foliate pe capitelurile din stâlpi. Cea mai mare comoară a bisericii este totuși retaula sa, sculptată în capitala hanseatică, Lübeck în secolul al XV-lea. Tripticul arată Fecioara cu Pruncul în centru, flancată de Sf. Olav și Sf. Antony în dreapta și Sf. Catharine și Sf. Dorothy în stânga.

Troldhaugen, Home of Edvard Grieg

Edvard Grieg, Norway’s preeminent composer, lived the final 20 years of his life at this scenic hilltop villa above Lake Nordås. Named Troldhauden (Troll Hill), the house was designed by Grieg’s cousin Schak Bull, and was completed in 1885. Grieg spent the summers here with his wife when he was home in Norway, and would compose pieces in a little hut overlooking the lake. In 1985 the discreet, 200-seater Troldsalen auditorium was built at the site, while a decade later a museum building was added with an exhibition about Grieg’s life and music. Meanwhile the house is an intimate living museum, filled with the Griegs’ personal effects and complete with the Steinway grand piano Edvard received as an anniversary present in 1892.

Edvard Grieg, compozitorul preeminent al Norvegiei, a trăit ultimii 20 de ani din viața sa în această vilă pitorească pe deal, deasupra lacului Nordås. Numită Troldhauden (Troll Hill), casa a fost proiectată de verișorul lui Grieg, Schak Bull, și a fost finalizată în 1885. Grieg a petrecut verile aici cu soția sa când era acasă în Norvegia și avea să compună piese într-o mică colibă cu vedere la lac. În 1985, auditoriul discret, cu 200 de locuri, Troldsalen a fost construit la fața locului, în timp ce un deceniu mai târziu a fost adăugată o clădire a muzeului cu o expoziție despre viața și muzica lui Grieg. Între timp, casa este un muzeu viu intim, plin de efectele personale ale lui Grieg și completat de pianul de colă Steinway pe care Edvard l-a primit ca cadou aniversar în 1892.

Bergenhus Fortress

In one form or another, this fortress has guarded the opening to Vågen bay since the middle of the 13th century. The outline of this sizeable complex is from the 19th century, and it holds buildings dating to any time between the 1200s and the 1900s (German WWII bunkers). One of the oldest is the beautiful Haakon’s Hall, a ceremonial hall that went up in the mid-13th century in the reign of King Haakon IV of Norway and was used for the wedding of his son Magnus VI of Norway to Ingeborg of Denmark. On the walls are both Romanesque and Gothic window openings, while a crow-stepped gable crowns the facade.

Într-o formă sau alta, această cetate a păstrat deschiderea spre golful Vågen încă de la mijlocul secolului al XIII-lea. Schița acestui complex considerabil este din secolul al XIX-lea și conține clădiri datând din orice moment între anii 1200 și 1900 (buncărele germane din al doilea război mondial). Una dintre cele mai vechi este frumoasa Haakon’s Hall, o sală ceremonială care a urcat la mijlocul secolului al XIII-lea în timpul regelui Haakon al IV-lea al Norvegiei și a fost folosită pentru nunta fiului său Magnus al VI-lea al Norvegiei cu Ingeborg din Danemarca. Pe pereți sunt atât deschideri de ferestre romanice, cât și gotice, în timp ce un fronton în trepte de corbă încoronează fațada.

Rosenkrantz Tower

On Vågen bay to the south of the Bergenhus fortress is another structure of real historical value. The Rosenkrantz Tower is named for the nobleman and governor Erik Rosenkrantz who oversaw the remodelling of the tower into one of Norway’s prime Renaissance residences in the 16th century. The tower has been here since the late 13th century when it was a home for King Eric II of Norway, the last king to hold court in Bergen. Rosenkrantz Tower had a real upstairs-downstairs setup, as the king and later the governor’s residence was on the top floor, while the basement was a dungeon, a role it filled all the way to the 1800s. In the 1740s the tower’s upper levels became a gunpowder magazine, and would remain so until the 1930s.

Pe golful Vågen din sudul cetății Bergenhus se află o altă structură cu valoare istorică reală. Turnul Rosenkrantz este numit după nobilul și guvernatorul Erik Rosenkrantz care a supravegheat remodelarea turnului într-una dintre primele reședințe renascentiste din Norvegia în secolul al XVI-lea. Turnul a fost aici de la sfârșitul secolului al XIII-lea, când a fost o casă pentru regele Norvegiei Eric al II-lea, ultimul rege care a avut curte la Bergen. Turnul Rosenkrantz avea o amenajare reală sus-jos, întrucât regele și mai târziu reședința guvernatorului se aflau la ultimul etaj, în timp ce subsolul era o temniță, rol pe care l-a îndeplinit până în anii 1800. În anii 1740, nivelurile superioare ale turnului au devenit o magazie de praf de pușcă și ar rămâne până în anii 1930.

Damsgård Manor

Across the Damsgårdssundet (Damsgård Sound) is what may be the finest wooden Rococo mansion in the world. Damsgård Manor was raised in the 1770s for the minister of war Joachim Christian Geelmuyden Gyldenkrantz. In summer the grounds are open to the public and include a Lord’s Garden and Lady’s Garden, both formal and enriched with statues, topiaries and geometric flowerbeds. There’s also a looser English garden with undulating lawns and a pond. As for the house, the decor has been returned to its 18th-century finery.

Peste Damsgårdssundet (Damsgård Sound) este ceea ce poate fi cel mai bun conac din lemn rococo din lume. Conacul Damsgård a fost crescut în anii 1770 pentru ministrul de război Joachim Christian Geelmuyden Gyldenkrantz. Vara, terenurile sunt deschise publicului și includ o Grădină a Domnului și Grădina Doamnelor, ambele formale și îmbogățite cu statui, topiare și paturi de flori geometrice. Există, de asemenea, o grădină engleză mai liberă cu peluze ondulate și un iaz. În ceea ce privește casa, decorul a fost readus la vestimentația sa din secolul al XVIII-lea.

VilVite Science Centre

The VilVite Science Centre means fun and education in equal measure. The centre has 75 stations, inviting children to learn by getting involved with games and interactive experiments. Nearly all of the stations are centred on the topics of energy, the ocean and the weather.

VilVite Science Center înseamnă distracție și educație în egală măsură. Centrul are 75 de stații, invitând copiii să învețe, implicându-se în jocuri și experimente interactive. Aproape toate stațiile sunt centrate pe subiectele energiei, oceanului și vremii.

Bryggens Museum

This museum in Bryggen owes its existence to a calamity. In 1955 the district was struck by fire, but this gave the city a chance to conduct archaeological excavations. The discoveries made during these digs opened a window on Medieval life and commerce in Bryggen. They are at the core of the museum, which has been built around the 900-year-old foundations that were uncovered. In display cases are Medieval weights, pieces of jewellery and a wealth of runic inscriptions etched into wood.

Acest muzeu din Bryggen își datorează existența unei calamități. În 1955, districtul a fost lovit de incendiu, dar acest lucru a dat orașului șansa de a efectua săpături arheologice. Descoperirile făcute în timpul acestor săpături au deschis o fereastră asupra vieții și comerțului medieval din Bryggen. Acestea se află în centrul muzeului, care a fost construit în jurul fundațiilor vechi de 900 de ani care au fost descoperite. În vitrine sunt greutăți medievale, bijuterii și o mulțime de inscripții runice gravate în lemn.

Hanseatic Museum and Schøtstuene

Raised in the wake of the fire at the start of the 18th century, the beautiful timber building hosting the Hanseatic Museum is one of the oldest wooden structures in Bergen. Since 1872 there has been a museum here, documenting the 400-year history of the German merchants’ guild’s association with Bergen from around 1350 to 1750. It is the only building at Bryggen to have retained its original interiors. Its occupants were prohibited from lighting fires for light, heat or food because of the fire risk. By day they would work downstairs in the warehouse and offices and spend nights in dormitories above.

Ridicată în urma incendiului de la începutul secolului al XVIII-lea, frumoasa clădire din lemn care găzduiește Muzeul Hanseatic este una dintre cele mai vechi structuri din lemn din Bergen. Din 1872 aici a existat un muzeu, care documentează istoria de 400 de ani a asociației breslei comercianților germani cu Bergen între 1350 și 1750. Este singura clădire din Bryggen care și-a păstrat interioarele originale. Ocupanților săi li s-a interzis să aprindă focuri pentru lumină, căldură sau hrană din cauza riscului de incendiu. Ziua lucrau la etaj în depozit și birouri și petreceau nopți în cămine de mai sus.

KODE Art Museums

In 2013 a group of four art institutions and cultural sites around Bergen were brought under a one umbrella named “KODE”. KODE 1 is for craft and design, and has a permanent exhibition of gold and silver objects produced in Bergen, as well as paintings by Old Masters, and European and Asian antiques. KODE 2 is a contemporary art museum which at the time of writing had an exhibition for Japanese installation artist Chiharu Shiota. KODE 3 has works from the Golden Age of Norwegian art, including paintings by Edvard Munch and Romantic artist Johan Christian Dahl. And finally KODE 4 is an art museum, also endowed with works by Dahl, as well as Paul Klee, Picasso and Asger Jorn.

În 2013, un grup de patru instituții de artă și situri culturale din jurul orașului Bergen au fost aduse sub o umbrelă numită „KODE”. KODE 1 este destinat ambarcațiunilor și al designului și are o expoziție permanentă de obiecte din aur și argint produse în Bergen, precum și picturi ale vechilor maeștri și antichități europene și asiatice. KODE 2 este un muzeu de artă contemporană care la momentul scrierii avea o expoziție pentru artistul de instalații japonez Chiharu Shiota. KODE 3 are lucrări din Epoca de Aur a artei norvegiene, inclusiv picturi ale lui Edvard Munch și ale artistului romantic Johan Christian Dahl. Și în cele din urmă KODE 4 este un muzeu de artă, dotat și cu lucrări de Dahl, precum și de Paul Klee, Picasso și Asger Jorn.

Capitale culturale europene

Bologna – Italia (2000)

The date of the University of Bologna’s founding is uncertain, but believed by most accounts to have been 1088. The university was granted a charter (Authentica habita) by Holy Roman Emperor Frederick I Barbarossa in 1158, but in the 19th century, a committee of historians led by Giosuè Carducci traced the founding of the University back to 1088, which would make it the oldest continuously-operating university in the world. However, the development of the institution at Bologna into a university was a gradual process. Paul Grendler writes that “it is not likely that enough instruction and organization existed to merit the term university before the 1150s, and it might not have happened before the 1180s.”

Data înființării Universității din Bologna este incertă, dar se crede că în cele mai multe relatări a fost 1088. Universității i s-a acordat o carte (Authentica habita) de către împăratul Sfântului Roman Frederic I Barbarossa în 1158, dar în secolul al XIX-lea, un comitet al istoricii conduși de Giosuè Carducci au trasat înființarea Universității până în 1088, ceea ce ar face din ea cea mai veche universitate cu funcționare continuă din lume. Cu toate acestea, dezvoltarea instituției de la Bologna într-o universitate a fost un proces treptat. Paul Grendler scrie că „nu este probabil că au existat suficiente instrucțiuni și organizare pentru a merita termenul de universitate înainte de anii 1150 și s-ar putea să nu se fi întâmplat înainte de anii 1180”.

Piazza Maggiore

As the central square in Bologna, the Piazza Maggiore is located right in the centre of the city and serves as an important historical place. This square is packed full with important buildings including the Pallazo d’Accursio, the Palazzo del Podesta, the Basilica di San Petronio and the Palazzo Comunale.

Fiind piața centrală din Bologna, Piazza Maggiore este situată chiar în centrul orașului și servește ca un loc istoric important. Această piață este plină de clădiri importante, inclusiv Pallazo d’Accursio, Palazzo del Podesta, Basilica di San Petronio și Palazzo Comunale.

Archiginnasio

Listed as one of the most important buildings in Bologna, the Archiginnasio was once the main buildings of the University of Bologna and now houses the famous Anatomical Theatre. This fantastic building was created in the 16th century and is located on the Piazza Galvani. As a piece of historical architecture, the Achiginnasio is fantastic in its own right, but the Anatomical Theatre is undoubtedly the centre piece. Created completely in wood, this small room has an immense amount of wood panelling and carved statues of famous medical practitioners. Furthermore, in the centre of the room surrounded by seating platforms lies an ornate anatomical table. This is the place where university students would have learnt about the human anatomy and watched dissections and demonstrations of surgery etc.

Listat ca una dintre cele mai importante clădiri din Bologna, Archiginnasio a fost cândva principalele clădiri ale Universității din Bologna și găzduiește acum celebrul Teatru Anatomic. Această clădire fantastică a fost creată în secolul al XVI-lea și este situată pe Piazza Galvani. Ca piesă de arhitectură istorică, Achiginnasio este fantastic în sine, dar Teatrul Anatomic este, fără îndoială, piesa centrală. Creată complet din lemn, această cameră mică are o cantitate imensă de lambriuri din lemn și statui sculptate ale unor medici renumiți. Mai mult, în centrul camerei înconjurat de platforme de șezut se află o masă anatomică împodobită. Acesta este locul în care studenții universitari ar fi aflat despre anatomia umană și ar fi urmărit disecțiile și demonstrațiile chirurgicale etc.

Museo per la Memoria di Ustica

A slightly haunting and sombre attraction, but nonetheless an important part of the history of Bologna – The Museum for the Memory of Ustica is dedicated to the fateful Ustica Disaster. In 1980 a Douglas DC-9 filled with 81 passengers that was heading to Palermo was torn in pieces and crashed, killing all the people on board. This disaster remains a true mystery and the cause of the crash is still under investigation and debated highly. Inside this museum, you can see the reconstructed remains of the DC-9 place together with a collection of photographs and possessions from the unfortunate victims.

O atracție ușor bântuitoare și sumbră, dar totuși o parte importantă a istoriei Bologna – Muzeul pentru Memoria Ustica este dedicat dezastrului Ustica. În 1980, un Douglas DC-9 plin cu 81 de pasageri care se îndrepta spre Palermo a fost rupt în bucăți și s-a prăbușit, ucigând toți oamenii de la bord. Acest dezastru rămâne un adevărat mister, iar cauza prăbușirii este încă în curs de investigare și dezbătută foarte mult. În interiorul acestui muzeu, puteți vedea rămășițele reconstituite ale locului DC-9 împreună cu o colecție de fotografii și bunuri de la victimele nefericite.

The leaning towers of Bologna

Who would of thought that the famous tower at Pisa is not the only leaning tower? Bologna actually has a pair of leaning towers and one is taller than the iconic campanile! Bologna actually has a myriad of towers, but the two tall examples standing in the Piazza di Porta Ravegnana are the most legendary. Asinelli and Garisenda are two tall towers that stand next to each other and are both named after important Italian families. Asinelli stands at 97.2m and was used as a prison and a stronghold. Garisenda stands only at 48m but has an extremely noticeable tilt and overhang of 3.2m.

Cine s-ar gândi că faimosul turn de la Pisa nu este singurul turn înclinat? Bologna are de fapt o pereche de turnuri înclinate, iar unul este mai înalt decât iconicul campanil! Bologna are de fapt o multitudine de turnuri, dar cele două exemple înalte care stau în Piazza di Porta Ravegnana sunt cele mai legendare. Asinelli și Garisenda sunt două turnuri înalte care stau unul lângă celălalt și au ambele nume după importante familii italiene. Asinelli se află la 97,2 m și a fost folosit ca închisoare și fortăreață. Garisenda se află la doar 48m, dar are o înclinare și o înălțime extrem de vizibile de 3,2m.

Santuario di Madonna di San Luca

As one of the oldest churches in Bologna, the Sanctuary of Madonna was first created in 1194 but not finished until 1765. This church sits on top of the Monte della Guardia and offers great views of the city of Bologna. Towering over the surroundings, the main building features a central basilica and is created from an orange/pink material with green domes; its style is considered to be Baroque. Inside, the sanctuary features a plethora of fantastic decoration and detailed frescos that depict important religious scenes. Furthermore the is also an icon of the Virgin Mary that was supposedly painted by Luke the Evangelist.

Fiind una dintre cele mai vechi biserici din Bologna, Sanctuarul Madonei a fost creat pentru prima dată în 1194, dar nu a fost finalizat decât în ​​1765. Această biserică se află deasupra Muntelui della Guardia și oferă vederi minunate asupra orașului Bologna. Înălțându-se peste împrejurimi, clădirea principală are o bazilică centrală și este creată dintr-un material portocaliu / roz cu cupole verzi; stilul său este considerat a fi baroc. În interior, sanctuarul prezintă o mulțime de decorațiuni fantastice și fresce detaliate care descriu scene religioase importante. În plus, este și o icoană a Fecioarei Maria care ar fi fost pictată de Luca Evanghelistul.

Bologna Archaeological Museum

A fine museum in the heart of Bologna, the Archaeological Museum offers a fantastic insight into the history of the city throughout the ages. Located on the Piazza Maggiore, the museum is easily accessible and is a fascinating place to visit. The museum hosts a huge range of collections and is split into 9 different sections, these include: Prehistoric, Etruscan, Celtic, Greek, Roman, Egyptian and Numismatic. Each collection contains a superb display of different artefacts such as Bronze Age tools, skeletal remains, pottery, weaponry, china and marble statues.

Un muzeu excelent în inima orașului Bologna, Muzeul Arheologic oferă o perspectivă fantastică asupra istoriei orașului de-a lungul veacurilor. Situat pe Piazza Maggiore, muzeul este ușor accesibil și este un loc fascinant de vizitat. Muzeul găzduiește o gamă largă de colecții și este împărțit în 9 secțiuni diferite, acestea includ: preistorice, etrusce, celtice, grecești, romane, egiptene și numismatice. Fiecare colecție conține o prezentare superbă a diferitelor artefacte, cum ar fi instrumente din epoca bronzului, rămășițe scheletice, ceramică, armament, porțelan și statui din marmură.

St. Stephen Basilica

This historical religious complex is located in the Piazza Santo Stefano and features several different buildings including the Church of Saint John the Baptist, The Church of the Holy Sepulchre and the courtyard of Pilate. As you walk through the first church, you might think that it is just one building, but as you step into the main arched courtyard you can see the various buildings. Each church has its own character, design and artwork and there is also a free museum that contains historical information about the complex.

Acest complex religios istoric este situat în Piazza Santo Stefano și are mai multe clădiri diferite, inclusiv Biserica Sfântul Ioan Botezătorul, Biserica Sfântului Mormânt și curtea lui Pilat. În timp ce treceți prin prima biserică, s-ar putea să credeți că este doar o clădire, dar pe măsură ce pășiți în curtea principală arcuită puteți vedea diferitele clădiri. Fiecare biserică are propriul său caracter, design și lucrări de artă și există, de asemenea, un muzeu gratuit care conține informații istorice despre complex.

San Petronio

This immense structure stands as the 10th largest church in the world by volume and presents a domineering presence in the centre of the Piazza Maggiore. Dedicated to Saint Petronius who is actually the patron saint of Bologna, the church has a Gothic design and it is noted for both it sheer size and its unfinished front facade. Originally constructed in 1388 through to 1479, the church has never been truly finished and its front facade is quite bizarre – the lower half features coloured marble stone work, whilst the top half remains bare and contains exposed brown brickwork. Inside the church feels truly epic – The large brick columns adorned with decoration seem to stretch forever and the main altar draws your attention as you walk down the central aisle.

Această structură imensă este cea de-a 10-a cea mai mare biserică din lume în volum și prezintă o prezență dominantă în centrul Piazza Maggiore. Dedicată Sfântului Petronius, care este de fapt sfântul patron al Bologna, biserica are un design gotic și se remarcă atât pentru dimensiunea ei pură, cât și pentru fațada sa neterminată din față. Construit inițial în 1388 până în 1479, biserica nu a fost niciodată terminată cu adevărat, iar fațada sa din față este destul de bizară – jumătatea inferioară prezintă lucrări din piatră de marmură colorată, în timp ce jumătatea superioară rămâne goală și conține zidărie maro expusă. În interiorul bisericii se simte cu adevărat epic – Coloanele mari din cărămidă împodobite cu decor par să se întindă pentru totdeauna și altarul principal vă atrage atenția în timp ce mergeți pe culoarul central.

Torre Prendiparte

Bologna was once full of tall, narrow stone towers during the Middle Ages – Only a handful still remain today in their original shape and design, one of which is the Torre Prendiparte. This particular tower was constructed during the 12th century and stands at 59.50 metres high. Located on the Piazza Prendiparte, the tower lies close to the two leaning towers and the Piazza Maggiore.

Bologna a fost odată plină de turnuri de piatră înalte și înguste în Evul Mediu – Doar o mână mai rămâne și astăzi în forma și designul lor original, dintre care unul este Torre Prendiparte. Acest turn special a fost construit în secolul al XII-lea și are o înălțime de 59,50 metri. Situat pe Piazza Prendiparte, turnul se află aproape de cele două turnuri înclinate și de Piazza Maggiore.

Porticoes

Bologna is famed for its extensive Portico – A Portico is essentially a partially enclosed walkway that is lined with arches and columns. As Bologna grew as a university city, so did the amount of Porticos present in the city. It is reported that within the confines of the city centre, you can walk through 40km of corridors. There are numerous different porticos scattered around the city but the most famous are the Bonaccorsi Arch and the walkway leading to the Sanctuary of the Madonna di San Luca.

Bologna este renumită pentru porticul său extins – Un portic este în esență o pasarelă parțial închisă, care este căptușită cu arcade și coloane. Pe măsură ce Bologna a crescut ca oraș universitar, a crescut și cantitatea de porticuri prezente în oraș. Este raportat că, în limitele centrului orașului, puteți parcurge 40 de kilometri de coridoare. Există numeroase porticuri diferite împrăștiate în jurul orașului, dar cele mai faimoase sunt Arcul Bonaccorsi și pasarela care duce la Sanctuarul Madonei San Luca.

Bologna National Gallery

Whilst some galleries display works from a variety of countries, the Bologna National Gallery contains works that are related someway to the Emilian region and the city – These paintings range in age as far back as the 13th century, up to the 18th century. Located within the confines of the old university complex, the museum is within easy reach of the city centre and the main Piazza Maggiore. Split into two main sections, the museum contains the Accademia Clementina and the Gallery of the Academy of Fine Arts; the first of which contains a myriad of fantastic 13th century Byzantine paintings and the latter contains later works. Notable pieces include the Ecstasy of St. Cecilia by Raphael and Christ and the Good Theif by Titian.

În timp ce unele galerii expun lucrări dintr-o varietate de țări, Galeria Națională Bologna conține lucrări care sunt legate într-o oarecare măsură de regiunea emiliană și de oraș – Aceste picturi au o vechime încă din secolul al XIII-lea până în secolul al XVIII-lea. Situat în limitele vechiului complex universitar, muzeul este ușor de accesat în centrul orașului și în Piazza Maggiore. Împărțit în două secțiuni principale, muzeul conține Accademia Clementina și Galeria Academiei de Arte Frumoase; prima dintre care conține o multitudine de picturi bizantine fantastice din secolul al XIII-lea și cea din urmă conține lucrări ulterioare. Piesele notabile includ Extazul Sf. Cecilia de Rafael și Hristos și Theif Theif de Titian.

Oratory of Battuti

This small chapel located within the church of Santa Maria della Vita features a tremendous amount of design and decoration and is one of the rarely seen finds in Bologna. The Oratory was constructed in 1604 and was designed by Floriano Ambrosini. Contained within the Oratory is a myriad of sculptures included statues of St. Proculus and St. Petronius, and also a variety of beautiful frescos. If you tilt your head back, the ceiling presents you with a stunning depiction of the ascension of Madonna, and the walls feature other religious iconography.

Această mică capelă situată în biserica Santa Maria della Vita prezintă o cantitate extraordinară de design și decorațiuni și este una dintre descoperirile rare din Bologna. Oratoriul a fost construit în 1604 și a fost proiectat de Floriano Ambrosini. În Oratoriu se află o multitudine de sculpturi care includ statui ale Sf. Proculus și Sf. Petronius, precum și o varietate de fresce frumoase. Dacă vă înclinați capul înapoi, tavanul vă prezintă o descriere uimitoare a ascensiunii Madonei, iar pereții prezintă alte iconografii religioase.

Capitale culturale europene

Avignon – Franta (2000)

In antiquity, Avignon was the capital of the Gallic tribe of the Kavars and yet many remains have been preserved during the Roman era. In the Middle Ages Avignon belonged to the popes, who controlled it through a vice-legate, and only by the peace treaty of Tolentino (1797) the city was finally ceded to the French. Near the cities are good quality sand deposits, which today are exported to Italy for the manufacture of glass. In the Middle Ages the sale of sand for glass brought a good income to the papacy. In the history of the Catholic Church, Avignon has an important place, because during the 72 years (1309-1378) the city served as the seat of the popes, Clement V, by ordinance from Philip IV moved the residence of at Rome. But even after this period of 70 years, known as the „Captivity of the Avignon Popes”, this city until 1409 served as the seat of many unrecognized popes.

În antichitate, Avignon a fost capitala tribului galic la kavarilor și totuși s-au păstrat multe rămășițe în timpul epocii romane. În Evul Mediu Avignon a aparținut papilor, care-l a controlau prin intermediul unui vice-legat, și numai prin tratatul de pace de la Tolentino (1797) oraș în cele din urmă este cedat francezilor. În apropierea orașelor sunt depozite de nisip de bună calitate, care astăzi este exportat în Italia pentru fabricarea sticlei. În Evului Mediu vânzarea de nisip pentru sticlă a adus un venit bun papalității. În istoria bisericii catolice, Avignon are un loc important, deoarece în cursul a 72 de ani (1309-1378) orașul a servit ca sediu al papilor, Clement al V-lea, prin ordonanță de la Filip al IV-lea a mutat reședința de la Roma. Dar, chiar și după această perioadă de 70 de ani, cunoscută sub numele de „Captivitate papilor Avignonieni” acest oraș până în 1409 a servit ca sediu al multor papi nerecunoscuți.

Palais des Papes

You can’t comprehend the scale of the 14th-century Papal Palace until you see it in real life. Just to trying to convey the size, you could fit four gothic cathedrals in here and there are 24 rooms to visit on the tour. It’s one of France’s most famous and valuable historical buildings.

Nu puteți înțelege scara Palatului Papal din secolul al XIV-lea până nu o vedeți în viața reală. Doar pentru a încerca să transmiteți dimensiunea, puteți adăuga patru catedrale gotice aici și există 24 de camere de vizitat în tur. Este una dintre cele mai faimoase și valoroase clădiri istorice din Franța.

Île de la Barthelasse

At 700 hectares the Île de la Barthelasse is one of Europe’s largest river islands. It belongs to Avignon and is connected to the city by the Pont Daladier, although you might find it more fitting to catch the free ferry across the Rhône. The island is mostly peaceful orchards with only clusters of houses because a few times every century there’s  a catastrophic flood. The highest point of the island is just 18 metres; it’s what makes the Île de la Barthelasse vulnerable to inundation.

La 700 de hectare, Île de la Barthelasse este una dintre cele mai mari insule fluviale din Europa. Acesta aparține de Avignon și este conectat la oraș prin Pont Daladier, deși s-ar putea să fie mai potrivit să prindeți feribotul gratuit peste Rhône. Insula este în majoritate livezi liniștite, cu numai grupuri de case, deoarece de câteva ori în fiecare secol există o inundație catastrofală. Cel mai înalt punct al insulei are doar 18 metri; este ceea ce face Île de la Barthelasse vulnerabilă la inundații.

Collection Lambert

Collection Lambert is one of Avignon’s newer art museums and was founded in 2000 by the art dealer Yvon Lambert as a space to display the works he had donated to the French government. The galleries are set across two marvellous 18th century Hôtels. The museum expanded dramatically in 2009 when Lambert made another donation of 560 pieces, the largest gift of art to France since Picasso’s posthumous donation in the 1970s. The art on show is contemporary, with photography, video, paintings and sculpture from the 1980s up to the last few years from the likes of Cy Twombly, Anselm Kiefer and Nile Toroni.

Colecția Lambert este unul dintre cele mai noi muzee de artă din Avignon și a fost fondată în 2000 de către dealerul de artă Yvon Lambert ca spațiu pentru expunerea lucrărilor pe care le donase guvernului francez. Galeriile sunt amplasate în două hoteluri minunate din secolul al XVIII-lea. Muzeul s-a extins dramatic în 2009, când Lambert a făcut o altă donație de 560 de piese, cel mai mare cadou de artă pentru Franța de la donația postumă a lui Picasso în anii 1970. Arta expusă este contemporană, cu fotografii, videoclipuri, picturi și sculpturi din anii 1980 până în ultimii ani, precum Cy Twombly, Anselm Kiefer și Nile Toroni.

Basilique Saint-Pierre d’Avignon

Local folklore has it that this church’s predecessor was destroyed by the moors in the 7th century. The current  gothic building was started in the 1300s during the papacy of Innocent IV, who was the fifth Avignon Pope. Before you enter, take a little time to appreciate the monumental wooden tours, sculpted from walnut in 1551by Antoine Volard. There’s a trove of art to see inside too, like the gilded choir from the 1700s, renaissance and baroque paintings, as well as the 15th-century relics of Saint-Pierre de Luxembourg, with his actual cardinal’s robes and hat.

Folclorul local spune că predecesorul acestei biserici a fost distrus de mauri în secolul al VII-lea. Actuala clădire gotică a fost începută în anii 1300 în timpul papalității lui Inocențiu al IV-lea, care era al cincilea papă din Avignon. Înainte de a intra, luați puțin timp pentru a aprecia monumentalele excursii din lemn, sculptate din nuc în 1551 de Antoine Volard. Există și o mulțime de artă de văzut în interior, cum ar fi corul aurit din anii 1700, picturi renascentiste și baroce, precum și moaștele din secolul al XV-lea din Saint-Pierre de Luxembourg, cu hainele și pălăria cardinalului propriu-zis.

Musée Angladon

Jacques Doucet was a Parisian tailor active at the turn of the century and regarded as one of the pioneers of fashion design. During his lifetime he amassed an immense art collection, including world-famous pieces like Picasso’s Demoiselles d’Avignon. Doucet’s heirs founded this museum in a fabulous early-18th-century mansion in the middle of Avignon to exhibit the remainder of Doucet’s paintings.

Jacques Doucet a fost un croitor parizian activ la începutul secolului și considerat unul dintre pionierii designului de modă. În timpul vieții sale a adunat o imensă colecție de artă, incluzând piese de renume mondial precum Demoiselles d’Avignon de Picasso. Moștenitorii lui Doucet au fondat acest muzeu într-un conac fabulos de la începutul secolului al XVIII-lea, în mijlocul orașului Avignon, pentru a expune restul picturilor lui Doucet.

Musée Calvet

Open to the public for more than 200 years the Calvet Museum was founded after the local doctor and collector Esprit Calvet donated his art, library and cabinet of curiosities to the city of Avignon. This diverse collection has since been expanded by donations from a host of patrons, and contains ancient archaeology, fine art, a wide array of decorative art and ethnological artefacts from Oceania, Asia and Africa.

Deschis publicului de mai bine de 200 de ani, Muzeul Calvet a fost fondat după ce medicul și colecționarul local Esprit Calvet și-a donat arta, biblioteca și cabinetul de curiozități orașului Avignon. Această colecție diversă a fost extinsă de atunci prin donații de la o serie de clienți și conține arheologie antică, artă plastică, o gamă largă de artă decorativă și artefacte etnologice din Oceania, Asia și Africa.

Musée du Petit Palais

Part of the same ensemble as the Palais des Papes is a smaller renaissance palace on the north side of the square. If it looks a bit like a fortress that’s because it had been a citadel during the Western Schism that followed the Avignon Papacy. The palace has barely changed since the start of the 1500s, when the future Pope Julius II revamped the building and added his coat of arms to the south facade, still visible above the entrance. The Petit Palais is just the right building for 327 paintings and 600 sculptures by Italian and French artists from the gothic and renaissance periods. Nearly all were commissioned for churches around Avignon, many from the 14th century during the Avignon Papacy.

O parte din același ansamblu ca și Palais des Papes este un palat renascentist mai mic de pe partea de nord a pieței. Dacă arată un pic ca o fortăreață, asta pentru că fusese o cetate în timpul schismei occidentale care a urmat papalității Avignon. Palatul abia s-a schimbat de la începutul anilor 1500, când viitorul papa Iulius al II-lea a renovat clădirea și și-a adăugat stema fațadei sudice, încă vizibilă deasupra intrării. Petit Palais este doar clădirea potrivită pentru 327 de picturi și 600 de sculpturi ale unor artiști italieni și francezi din perioada gotică și renascentistă. Aproape toate au fost comandate pentru biserici din jurul Avignonului, multe din secolul al XIV-lea în timpul Papalității Avignon.

Pont Saint-Bénézet

Known to all as the Pont d’Avignon, the mythic bridge is from the late-12th century, linking France with Papal Territory. It was positioned on the tightest part of the bend in the Rhône to lessen its exposure to the river’s notorious strong currents. Originally there were 22 arches, of which four remain today, and the bridge was 915 metres long, sensational dimensions for the time it was built. Over the next few hundred years the bridge was damaged and rebuilt by flooding, until finally a catastrophic flood in the 17th century carried off most of the arches.

Cunoscut de toți sub numele de Pont d’Avignon, podul mitic este de la sfârșitul secolului al XII-lea, legând Franța de teritoriul papal. A fost poziționat pe cea mai strânsă parte a cotului din Rhône pentru a diminua expunerea la curenții puternici notori ai râului. Inițial existau 22 de arcuri, dintre care patru rămân astăzi, iar podul avea o lungime de 915 metri, dimensiuni senzaționale pentru timpul în care a fost construit. În următoarele câteva sute de ani, podul a fost deteriorat și reconstruit prin inundații, până când, în cele din urmă, o inundație catastrofală din secolul al XVII-lea a distrus majoritatea arcurilor.

Place de l’Horloge

Avignon’s main square is where you’ll find the city hall and opera house. Place de l’Horloge is named after the Avignon’s gothic clock tower, but this can actually be quite tough to spot on the square as it’s hidden behind the newer neoclassical city hall buildings.

Piața principală din Avignon este locul unde veți găsi primăria și opera. Place de l’Horloge poartă numele turnului cu ceas gotic de la Avignon, dar acest lucru poate fi destul de greu de observat pe piață, deoarece este ascuns în spatele clădirilor neoclasice mai noi ale primăriei.

Rue des Teinturiers

This old street traces the Vaucluse Canal. Rue des Teinturiers was the intense centre of Avignon’s silk spinning and dyeing industry from the 1300s up to the 1800s. There are still charming clues in the form of four water-wheels mills suspended from the embankment next to the water. The beautiful stone houses on the other side of the canal are linked to the cobblestone street by little bridges, and the whole route is shaded by tall old plane trees.

Această stradă veche urmărește Canalul Vaucluse. Rue des Teinturiers a fost centrul intens al industriei de filare și vopsire a mătăsii de la Avignon din anii 1300 până în anii 1800. Există încă indicii fermecătoare sub forma a patru mori cu roți de apă suspendate de terasament lângă apă. Frumoasele case de piatră de pe cealaltă parte a canalului sunt legate de strada pietruită prin mici poduri, iar întregul traseu este umbrit de platani înalți vechi.

Pont du Gard

What could be Roman Gaul’s most photogenic ruin is 25 kilometres to the west of the city. The Pont du Gard is magnificent, but it’s astonishing to think that it’s just a fragment of a system that once spanned 50 kilometres, descending just 17 metres on its route from Uzès to Nîmes. What’s more it was made in just five years. The 275-metre-long, 50-metre-high section built to cross the Gardon River has astounded people for two millennia. On the site is a compact museum of Roman history with kid-friendly displays, and a video explaining how this work of ancient engineering was undertaken.

Cea care ar putea fi cea mai fotogenică ruină a Galiei Romane este la 25 de kilometri spre vestul orașului. Pont du Gard este magnific, dar este uimitor să ne gândim că este doar un fragment al unui sistem care odinioară se întindea pe 50 de kilometri, coborând doar 17 metri pe ruta sa de la Uzès la Nîmes. Mai mult, a fost realizat în doar cinci ani. Secțiunea de 275 de metri lungime, 50 de metri înălțime construită pentru a traversa râul Gardon a uimit oamenii de două milenii. Pe site se află un muzeu compact de istorie romană, cu afișaje adaptate copiilor și un videoclip care explică modul în care a fost întreprinsă această lucrare de inginerie antică.

Capitale culturale europene

Weimar – Germania (1999)

This breed was created at the court of Duke K.A. of Weimar around 1810 by mating the short-haired German Brac with Bloodhound and French greyhounds. At first it was raised and used for hunting by the German nobility but later it spread throughout Germany and after 1930 and in the USA. At first it was used for hunting large animals, and when their number decreased it began to hunt birds.

Aceasta rasa a fost creata la curtea ducelui K.A. de Weimar in jurul anului 1810 prin imperecherea Bracului german cu par scurt cu Bloodhound si ogari francezi. La inceput a fost crescut si folosit la vanatoare de nobilimea germana dar mai tarziu s-a raspandit in intreaga Germanie si dupa 1930 si in SUA. La inceput a fost folosit pentru vanatoarea de animale mari, iar cand numarul acestora s-a redus a inceput sa vaneze pasari.

Park an der Ilm & Römisches Haus

Right behind the Anna Amalia Library and the palace, you will find a magnificent landscape park. Scattered around the park are many bigger and smaller monuments, but you should definitely check out the Roman House. It was the first neoclassic houses to be built in Weimar and none other than Goethe himself had the idea for it.

Chiar în spatele Bibliotecii Anna Amalia și a palatului, veți găsi un parc peisagistic magnific. Împărțite în jurul parcului sunt multe monumente mai mari și mai mici, dar ar trebui să verificați cu siguranță Casa Romană. Au fost primele case neoclasice construite în Weimar și nimeni altul decât Goethe însuși a avut ideea pentru asta.

Bauhaus University

The original Bauhaus University still exists in Weimar. It’s a very active university. Henry van de Velde was the architects behind the historic main complex which was inscribed as a UNESCO World Heritage site in 1996.

Universitatea Bauhaus originală există încă în Weimar. Este o universitate foarte activă. Henry van de Velde a fost arhitecții din spatele complexului istoric principal care a fost înscris ca sit al Patrimoniului Mondial UNESCO în 1996.

Fürstengruft

The old cemetery of Weimar is quite a special place. Here you will find a lovely neoclassical burial chapel for the dukes and duchesses of Sachsen-Weimar. It’s also the final resting place of Goethe and Schiller, though the sarcophagus of the latter is empty. Behind the tomb of the dukes, you’ll find an old Russian Orthodox church which is quite lovely and just another reason why you should visit the cemetery.

Vechiul cimitir din Weimar este un loc destul de special. Aici veți găsi o minunată capelă de înmormântare neoclasică pentru ducii și ducesele din Sachsen-Weimar. Este, de asemenea, ultimul loc de odihnă al lui Goethe și Schiller, deși sarcofagul acestuia din urmă este gol. În spatele mormântului ducilor, veți găsi o veche biserică ortodoxă rusă, care este destul de minunată și doar un alt motiv pentru care ar trebui să vizitați cimitirul.

House of the Weimar Republic

In 1918, after the end of World War I, Germany changed from a constitutional monarchy into a republic. The first assembly met in Weimar’s famous theater (between February 1919 and August 1919) which is why later generations would call this period the Weimar Republic, even though contemporaries kept calling it “Deutsches Reich”. Opposite the theater, you will now find the new Haus der Weimarer Republik with quite an interesting exhibition about the time between the two world wars.

În 1918, după sfârșitul primului război mondial, Germania s-a transformat dintr-o monarhie constituțională în republică. Prima adunare s-a întâlnit în faimosul teatru de la Weimar (între februarie 1919 și august 1919), motiv pentru care generațiile ulterioare vor numi această perioadă Republica Weimar, chiar dacă contemporanii îl numeau în continuare „Deutsches Reich”. Vizavi de teatru, veți găsi acum noua Haus der Weimarer Republik cu o expoziție destul de interesantă despre timpul dintre cele două războaie mondiale.

Stadtmuseum Weimar

Weimar also has a little city museum. It tells the history of Weimar in quite a charming way and you’ll get a nice feeling for life in the city in the centuries past.

Weimar are și un mic muzeu al orașului. Acesta spune istoria orașului Weimar într-un mod destul de fermecător și veți avea o senzație plăcută pentru viața în oraș în secolele trecute.

Peter and Paul Church / The Herder Church

The central feature of the Old Town of Weimar is the Stadtkirche (Town Church), or Herder Church, a Late Gothic hall-church built in 1500. Dedicated to Saints Peter and Paul — hence its third name, St. Peter und Paul — this beautiful old building is protected as a national monument. It was here that Johann Herder, the great 18th-century writer and philosopher, officiated as court preacher for many years (his tomb lies in the west choir). The church has a large winged altar by Lucas Cranach the Younger built in 1555, and the grave slab of Lucas Cranach the Elder, who died in 1553, along with a number of 16th-century monuments dedicated to members of the Ernestine line. Guided tours are available. A statue of Herder stands in front of the church. Also of interest is the Garden at Herder House, behind the church.

Caracteristica centrală a orașului vechi din Weimar este Stadtkirche (Biserica orașului) sau Biserica Herder, o biserică-hală gotică târzie construită în 1500. Dedicat sfinților Petru și Pavel – de aici și al treilea nume, Sf. Petru și Pavel – acest frumoasa clădire veche este protejată ca monument național. Aici a fost Johann Herder, marele scriitor și filozof din secolul al XVIII-lea, care a oficiat mulți ani ca predicator de curte (mormântul său se află în corul de vest). Biserica are un altar mare cu aripi, realizat de Lucas Cranach cel Tânăr, construit în 1555, și placa de mormânt a lui Lucas Cranach cel Bătrân, care a murit în 1553, împreună cu o serie de monumente din secolul al XVI-lea dedicate membrilor liniei Ernestine. Sunt disponibile tururi cu ghid. O statuie a lui Herder stă în fața bisericii. De asemenea, este de interes Grădina de la Herder House, în spatele bisericii.

Wittumspalais: Dower Palace

Built in 1767, Dower Palace (Wittumspalais) — also known as the Widow’s Palace — was the home of the Dowager Duchess Anna Amalia, a leading German aristocrat and an avid patron of the arts. During Goethe’s time, the palace was the epicenter of social and literary activity in the city. Now a museum, this splendid Baroque two-winged palace features fine décor, period furniture, and portraits and busts of the Ducal family and courtesans, as well as portraits of Goethe and Schiller in the Poet’s Room. Also of interest is the Round Table Room. More can be learned about this important aspect of the city’s cultural history at the Stadtmuseum Weimar, which contains important collections of art and artifacts relating to Weimar’s rich history.

Construit în 1767, Palatul Dower (Wittumspalais) – cunoscut și sub numele de Palatul văduvei – a fost casa ducesei văduve Anna Amalia, un aristocrat german de vârf și un avid patron al artelor. În timpul lui Goethe, palatul a fost epicentrul activității sociale și literare din oraș. Acum un muzeu, acest splendid palat baroc cu două aripi are un decor rafinat, mobilier de epocă, portrete și busturi ale familiei ducale și curtezane, precum și portrete ale lui Goethe și Schiller în camera poetului. De asemenea, este de interes Sala Mesei Rotunde. Mai multe despre acest aspect important al istoriei culturale ale orașului se pot afla la Stadtmuseum Weimar, care conține colecții importante de artă și artefacte referitoare la bogata istorie a Weimar.

The Duchess Anna Amalia Library

Housed in the Green Palace (Grünes Schloss), a huge Renaissance building constructed in 1563 and now part of the Weimar Classical UNESCO World Heritage Site, the Duchess Anna Amalia Library (Herzogin Anna Amalia Bibliothek) — also referred to as the Historical Library — houses one of Germany’s most important collections of classic literature with more than a million books all told. Highlights of the collection include medieval signatures, some of Europe’s earliest printed books, along with maps, globes, artwork and artifacts, and the private library of the philosopher Friedrich Nietzsche. The building itself is a work of art, particularly the exquisite Rococo Hall.

Găzduit în Palatul Verde (Grünes Schloss), o imensă clădire renascentistă construită în 1563 și acum făcând parte din situl clasic al Weimar din patrimoniul mondial UNESCO, Biblioteca Ducesei Anna Amalia (Herzogin Anna Amalia Bibliothek) – denumită și Biblioteca istorică – case una dintre cele mai importante colecții de literatură clasică din Germania, cu peste un milion de cărți. Punctele de atracție ale colecției includ semnături medievale, unele dintre primele cărți tipărite din Europa, împreună cu hărți, globuri, opere de artă și artefacte și biblioteca privată a filosofului Friedrich Nietzsche. Clădirea în sine este o operă de artă, în special rafinata sală Rococo.

Memorial Buchenwald

To the north of Weimar rises the 478-meter-high Ettersberg, notorious as the place where the Nazis established the Buchenwald concentration camp in 1937 and where an estimated 56,000 people died. Now a memorial site, Memorial Buchenwald (Gedenkstätte Buchenwald) is a sobering reminder of the horrors of fascism. The memorial, which includes the Grove of Honor and a bell-tower, was laid out on the southern slope of the hill at the site of mass graves. Also available to view are a number of the camp’s surviving buildings, including the gatehouse, detention cells, and crematorium. A bookshop and a cafe are located on-site.

La nord de Weimar se înalță Ettersberg, înalt de 478 de metri, cunoscut ca locul în care naziștii au stabilit lagărul de concentrare Buchenwald în 1937 și unde au murit aproximativ 56.000 de oameni. Acum, un loc memorial, Memorial Buchenwald (Gedenkstätte Buchenwald) este un memento de răsuflare al ororilor fascismului. Memorialul, care include Grove of Honor și o clopotniță, a fost așezat pe versantul sudic al dealului, la locul gropilor comune. De asemenea, sunt disponibile pentru vizualizare o serie de clădiri care au supraviețuit taberei, inclusiv poarta, celulele de detenție și crematoriul. O librărie și o cafenea sunt situate la fața locului.

Liszt House

In Belvedere Allee, on the west side of lovely Belevedere Park, is Liszt House, the modest former gardener’s house later occupied by Franz Liszt from 1869-86. Now a museum dedicated to the life of the great composer, the house includes highlights such as the salon where he once taught and a variety of unique (and original) pianos, including the „silent piano” used to practice finger exercises. Other highlights include displays relating to his vast repertoire of music, as well as artifacts and documents.

În Belvedere Allee, pe partea de vest a minunatului parc Belevedere, se află Casa Liszt, modestă casă a fostului grădinar ocupată ulterior de Franz Liszt din 1869-86. Acum, un muzeu dedicat vieții marelui compozitor, casa include momente importante precum salonul în care a predat odată și o varietate de piane unice (și originale), inclusiv „pianul tăcut” folosit pentru a practica exerciții cu degetele. Alte puncte culminante includ afișări legate de vastul său repertoriu de muzică, precum și artefacte și documente.

Nietzsche Archive

Another important archive is dedicated to the work of Friedrich Nietzsche, who spent the final few years of his life in Weimar. Notable also for its design, the Nietzsche Archive is worth visiting for its fine furnishings and décor. It was here the philosopher spent his last few years (he passed away in Silberblick villa in 1900), after which, in 1903, the site was formally opened as an archive to preserve his work and the home in which he lived and worked. Highlights include the splendidly maintained interior with its original furnishings and décor, featuring the important library and collection room, plus the study in which he worked. Other notable original features include the stoves, fabrics and coverings, vases, fixtures, and flooring, along with a marble bust and rare artworks, artifacts, and documents. There’s also an interesting exhibit dealing with the Nazi party’s cult-like fascination with the philosopher and his work.

O altă arhivă importantă este dedicată operei lui Friedrich Nietzsche, care și-a petrecut ultimii câțiva ani din viață la Weimar. Remarcabil și pentru designul său, Arhiva Nietzsche merită vizitată pentru mobilierul și decorul său rafinat. Aici și-a petrecut ultimii ani filosoful (a murit în vila Silberblick în 1900), după care, în 1903, site-ul a fost deschis oficial ca o arhivă pentru a-și păstra munca și casa în care a trăit și a lucrat. Punctele de atracție includ interiorul frumos întreținut, cu mobilierul și decorul original, cu biblioteca importantă și sala de colecții, plus studiul în care a lucrat. Alte caracteristici originale notabile includ sobe, țesături și învelitoare, vaze, corpuri de iluminat și pardoseală, împreună cu un bust de marmură și lucrări de artă rare, artefacte și documente. Există, de asemenea, o expoziție interesantă care tratează fascinația de cult a partidului nazist pentru filosof și opera sa.

Goethe House and National Museum

Adjoining the historic old White Swan Inn, Goethe House (Goethes Wohnhaus), a simple Baroque building constructed in 1709, was where Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, one of Germany’s most famous writers, lived from 1782 until his death in 1832. This large former residence now houses the Goethe National Museum (Goethe-Nationalmuseum). Founded in 1885 and furnished just as it was in Goethe’s time, this well-preserved building consists of his library (which also served as his study), along with his reception room. An extension to the house contains the Goethe-Museum, in which resides a wide range of material on his life and work including his art collection, which features some 2,000 of his own drawings, scientific papers, and his personal library containing some 5,400 volumes of writing. Also of interest is Goethe’s Garden House (Goethe Gartenhaus) in Ilm Park, the quaint cottage he often used as a retreat and which contains original furniture and other mementos.

Alăturat vechiului istoric White Swan Inn, Goethe House (Goethes Wohnhaus), o clădire barocă simplă construită în 1709, a locuit Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, unul dintre cei mai cunoscuți scriitori din Germania, din 1782 până la moartea sa în 1832. Această mare fostă reședință găzduiește acum Muzeul Național Goethe (Goethe-Nationalmuseum). Fondată în 1885 și amenajată la fel ca pe vremea lui Goethe, această clădire bine conservată constă din biblioteca sa (care i-a servit și ca birou), împreună cu sala de recepție. O extensie a casei conține Muzeul Goethe, în care se află o gamă largă de materiale despre viața și opera sa, inclusiv colecția sa de artă, care prezintă aproximativ 2.000 de desene proprii, lucrări științifice și biblioteca personală care conține aproximativ 5.400 de volume de scris. De asemenea, este de interes Casa Goethe’s Garden (Goethe Gartenhaus) din Parcul Ilm, cabana ciudată pe care a folosit-o adesea ca refugiu și care conține mobilier original și alte amintiri.

The Bauhaus Museum

With a focus on the Bauhaus movement’s early days in Weimar — it was founded here in 1919 — the Bauhaus Museum is an excellent resource for one of the world’s most important design styles. It is located in a stunning modern building that does the movement proud, and which also serves as the hub of the city’s cultural district. Highlights of a visit include a chance to see works by the movement’s founder, Walter Gropius, as well as by his contemporaries and students. Other notable displays trace the school’s work in Weimar, along with examples and prototypes. Weimer also boasts a number of fine examples of the Bauhaus architectural style, too, including the Main Building and the former School of Arts and Crafts at Bauhaus University, and Haus am Horn, an experimental home built in 1923. Also of interest to students of architecture is Haus Hohe Pappeln, the former home of famed Belgian designer Henry van de Velde, who had this important home built as a summer house in 1908. A variety of rooms can be visited, along with the elegant garden.

Cu accent pe începuturile mișcării Bauhaus din Weimar – a fost fondat aici în 1919 – Muzeul Bauhaus este o resursă excelentă pentru unul dintre cele mai importante stiluri de design din lume. Este situat într-o clădire modernă uimitoare, care face mândrie mișcarea și care servește și ca centru al districtului cultural al orașului. Punctele culminante ale unei vizite includ șansa de a vedea lucrări ale fondatorului mișcării, Walter Gropius, precum și ale contemporanilor și studenților săi. Alte afișaje notabile urmăresc munca școlii din Weimar, împreună cu exemple și prototipuri. Weimer se mândrește, de asemenea, cu o serie de exemple frumoase ale stilului arhitectural Bauhaus, inclusiv clădirea principală și fosta Școală de Arte și Meserii de la Universitatea Bauhaus și Haus am Horn, o casă experimentală construită în 1923. De asemenea, este de interes pentru studenții din arhitectura este Haus Hohe Pappeln, fosta casă a renumitului designer belgian Henry van de Velde, care a construit această casă importantă ca casă de vară în 1908. O varietate de camere pot fi vizitate, împreună cu grădina elegantă.

The City Castle

Weimar’s castle (Stadtschloss) is a three-story building with a Neoclassical colonnade facing the River Ilm and is notable for its fine interior, including the staircase hall, the Great Hall, and the Falcon Gallery from 1803, as well as the Goethe Gallery. The castle also houses the Castle Museum (Schlossmuseum), home to the city’s extensive art collections, including a fine collection of German art from the Middle Ages and the Renaissance periods. Other highlights include Italian and Dutch paintings of the 16th and 17th centuries, including works by Rubens, and art of the Goethe period. There’s also a collection of graphic art, including some 15,000 drawings and 50,000 sheets of printed graphic art, as well as a substantial coin collection.

Castelul Weimar (Stadtschloss) este o clădire cu trei etaje, cu o colonadă neoclasică orientată spre râul Ilm și se remarcă prin interiorul său fin, inclusiv holul scărilor, Sala Mare și Galeria Falcon din 1803, precum și Galeria Goethe. Castelul găzduiește, de asemenea, Muzeul Castelului (Schlossmuseum), care găzduiește extinse colecții de artă ale orașului, inclusiv o colecție excelentă de artă germană din Evul Mediu și perioadele Renașterii. Alte atracții includ picturi italiene și olandeze din secolele XVI și XVII, inclusiv lucrări de Rubens și arta din perioada Goethe. Există, de asemenea, o colecție de artă grafică, care include aproximativ 15.000 de desene și 50.000 de coli de artă grafică tipărită, precum și o colecție substanțială de monede.

The Ducal Vault and Historical Graveyard

Weimar’s main cemetery, Fürstengruft Historischer Friedhof, is famous as the final resting place of both Goethe and Schiller, who were laid to rest here side-by-side. This fact, along with the cemetery’s many splendid monuments and park-like setting, makes it a top thing to see in Weimar. The cemetery’s domed Neoclassical chapel was built in 1827 and houses the Ducal Vault containing the remains of Goethe, Schiller, and Grand Duke Carl August (their bodies were interred here some years after their deaths). Another structure of note is the Russian Chapel, built in 1862, where the Grand Duchess Maria Pawlowna is buried. Also in the cemetery are the graves of other members of the Goethe family, as well as friends and associates, and a monument to those who fell in the 1848 Revolution.

Cimitirul principal din Weimar, Fürstengruft Historischer Friedhof, este renumit ca ultimul loc de odihnă atât al Goethe, cât și al lui Schiller, care au fost așezate aici unul lângă altul. Acest fapt, alături de numeroasele monumente splendide ale cimitirului și de un cadru asemănător parcului, îl face un lucru de top pentru a vedea în Weimar. Capela neoclasică cu cupolă a cimitirului a fost construită în 1827 și găzduiește seiful ducal care conține rămășițele lui Goethe, Schiller și Marele Duce Carl August (cadavrele lor au fost îngropate aici la câțiva ani după moartea lor). O altă structură notabilă este Capela Rusă, construită în 1862, unde este îngropată Marea Ducesă Maria Pawlowna. De asemenea, în cimitir se află mormintele altor membri ai familiei Goethe, precum și prietenii și asociații, precum și un monument pentru cei căzuți în Revoluția din 1848.

Neues Museum Weimar

Established in 1869 and one of the country’s oldest museums, Neues Museum Weimar is an important part of the Quarter of Weimar Modernism, home to the new Bauhaus Museum. Highlights of this top-rated art gallery include an exhibit focusing on the Buchenwald Memorial, which deals with the issue of forced labor, as well as a fascinating collection of international works from the Realism and Impressionism movements inspired by the ideas and writings of Friedrich Nietzsche, including paintings by Claude Monet and Henry van de Velde. The museum also features regular workshops dealing with traditional crafts such as carpentry and bookbinding.

Înființat în 1869 și unul dintre cele mai vechi muzee ale țării, Neues Museum Weimar este o parte importantă a Cartierului Modernismului Weimar, care găzduiește noul muzeu Bauhaus. Repere ale acestei galerii de artă cele mai apreciate includ o expoziție axată pe Memorialul Buchenwald, care tratează problema muncii forțate, precum și o colecție fascinantă de lucrări internaționale din mișcările de realism și impresionism inspirate din ideile și scrierile lui Friedrich Nietzsche , inclusiv tablouri de Claude Monet și Henry van de Velde. Muzeul oferă, de asemenea, ateliere regulate care se ocupă de meșteșuguri tradiționale, cum ar fi tâmplăria și legarea cărților.

Weimarhaus

The interesting Weimarhaus is well worth a visit for those wanting to learn more about the region’s long, rich history. Exhibits and displays of waxwork characters deal with the first historical appearances of mankind in the Stone Age right up to the classical era for which the city is best known. Adding to the experience is the clever use of lighting and sound effects, along with fitting musical accompaniment. Of particular interest are the dioramas and depictions of historically accurate scenes involving Weimar’s best-known residents, including Schiller and Goethe, some of which are animatronic.  Of related interest is the Museum of the Prehistory and Early History of Thuringia (Museum für Ur- und frühgeschichte Thüringens). This state-run museum features displays and reconstructions of important trades and moments from the region’s history, along with an interesting collection of some 3,000 artifacts and archaeological finds. Highlights include relics from Stone Age hunters, including rare species of animals that once roamed the lands here, from extinct species of elephants to rhinos.

Interesantul Weimarhaus merită o vizită pentru cei care doresc să afle mai multe despre lunga și bogata istorie a regiunii. Exponatele și expunerile de personaje din ceară tratează primele apariții istorice ale omenirii în epoca de piatră până în epoca clasică pentru care orașul este cel mai bine cunoscut. La experiență se adaugă utilizarea inteligentă a iluminatului și a efectelor sonore, împreună cu acompaniamentul muzical potrivit. Un interes deosebit sunt dioramele și reprezentările scenelor exacte istoric care implică cei mai cunoscuți rezidenți ai Weimar, inclusiv Schiller și Goethe, dintre care unele sunt animatronice. Un interes similar este Muzeul Preistoriei și Istoriei timpurii a Turingiei (Museum für Ur- und frühgeschichte Thüringens). Acest muzeu administrat de stat prezintă afișări și reconstrucții ale unor meserii și momente importante din istoria regiunii, împreună cu o colecție interesantă de aproximativ 3.000 de artefacte și descoperiri arheologice. Punctele de atracție includ relicve de la vânătorii din epoca de piatră, inclusiv specii rare de animale care odată au cutreierat ținuturile de aici, de la specii dispărute de elefanți la rinoceri.

Schiller Residence & Schiller-Museum

Friedrich Schiller’s home from 1802 until his death in 1805, the Schiller Residence, built in 1777, offers a fascinating look at the life of one of Germany’s most prolific and important poet-playwrights. Along with its richly furnished rooms in period style, the home contains many authentic artifacts that once belonged to the writer, from humble domestic items such as coffee- and teapots and tableware, to original drawings made by his children as infants. The most important room here is Schiller’s study, where he wrote many of his best known works. Located in the same building, the Schiller-Museum (Schillers Wohnhaus) boasts a large collection of material relating to his life and work, as well as artifacts, documents, and manuscripts of his last writings, including William Tell and The Bride of Messina.

Casa lui Friedrich Schiller din 1802 până la moartea sa în 1805, Reședința Schiller, construită în 1777, oferă o privire fascinantă asupra vieții unuia dintre cei mai prolifici și importanți poet-dramaturgi germani. Împreună cu camerele sale bogat mobilate în stil de epocă, casa conține numeroase artefacte autentice care au aparținut odinioară scriitorului, de la obiecte domestice umile, cum ar fi cafea și ceainice și veselă, până la desene originale realizate de copiii săi ca sugari. Cea mai importantă cameră aici este studiul lui Schiller, unde a scris multe dintre cele mai cunoscute lucrări ale sale. Situat în aceeași clădire, Muzeul Schiller (Schillers Wohnhaus) se mândrește cu o mare colecție de materiale referitoare la viața și opera sa, precum și artefacte, documente și manuscrise ale ultimelor sale scrieri, inclusiv William Tell și Mireasa din Messina.

The Goethe and Schiller Archive

On the far side of the Ilm is the Goethe and Schiller Archive, another of the city’s many UNESCO World Heritage Sites. Constructed in 1896 and the oldest such archive in the country, the building houses the papers of some 60 German writers, including Otto Ludwig and Fritz Reuter. Together with the manuscripts of some 450 notable people from the 18th to the early 20th centuries — including scholars, writers, philosophers, and composers — this important collection numbers almost 600,000 manuscripts. Other highlights include the archives of Germany’s major publishing houses and an impressive autograph collection. Be sure to also spend time exploring the building’s impressive gardens, as well as checking out the excellent views over Weimar from the garden terrace. Also worth checking out is the Goethe–Schiller Monument (Goethe-Schiller-Denkmal), a unique double bronze statue of the two writers that was cast in 1857. Located in front of the city’s historic Court Theater (Großes Haus) on Theaterplatz, where many of Schiller’s works were premiered and where Goethe sometimes worked, this impressive statue stands as a testament not just to their genius, but their life-long friendship.

Pe partea îndepărtată a Ilmului se află Arhiva Goethe și Schiller, un alt dintre numeroasele situri ale Patrimoniului Mondial UNESCO ale orașului. Construită în 1896 și cea mai veche astfel de arhivă din țară, clădirea găzduiește hârtiile a aproximativ 60 de scriitori germani, printre care Otto Ludwig și Fritz Reuter. Împreună cu manuscrisele a aproximativ 450 de persoane notabile din secolele XVIII până la începutul secolului XX – inclusiv cărturari, scriitori, filosofi și compozitori – această importantă colecție numără aproape 600.000 de manuscrise. Alte atracții includ arhivele marilor edituri din Germania și o colecție impresionantă de autografe. Asigurați-vă că petreceți timp explorând grădinile impresionante ale clădirii, precum și verificând priveliștile excelente asupra Weimar de pe terasa din grădină. Merită, de asemenea, verificat monumentul Goethe – Schiller (Goethe-Schiller-Denkmal), o statuie dublă de bronz unică a celor doi scriitori care a fost turnată în 1857. Situată în fața istoricului Teatru al Curții (Großes Haus) al orașului pe Theaterplatz, unde multe dintre lucrările lui Schiller au fost premiate și acolo unde Goethe a lucrat uneori, această statuie impresionantă este un testament nu doar pentru geniul lor, ci pentru prietenia lor de-a lungul vieții.

Belvedere Castle, Park, and Orangery

Another top thing to do in Weimar is pay a visit to the elegant Belvedere Castle. Perched atop a hill in a park-like setting on the city’s southern outskirts, the palace was built as a hunting lodge in the early 1700s before being remodeled as a palatial summer residence. Now a charming museum chock-full of interesting artifacts, including artworks and weapons from this period of time – as well as especially attractive glass and porcelain collections – the property consists of a number of lovely gardens, the main palace building, and picturesque outbuildings, including the former stables with adjoining quarters for officers and their servants. The palace’s grounds are particularly noteworthy and include a lovely botanical garden partially designed by Goethe. While elements of these first gardens remain, it has been much remodeled over the centuries, with the addition of pleasant pathways. A notable addition was the beautiful Orangery, now well-preserved and worth a visit for its displays of historical horse-drawn carriages.

Un alt lucru important de făcut în Weimar este să faceți o vizită la elegantul castel Belvedere. Așezat pe un deal într-un cadru asemănător unui parc de la periferia sudică a orașului, palatul a fost construit ca o cabană de vânătoare la începutul anilor 1700 înainte de a fi remodelat ca reședință de vară palatină. Acum, un muzeu fermecător este plin de artefacte interesante, inclusiv lucrări de artă și arme din această perioadă de timp – precum și colecții deosebit de atractive de sticlă și porțelan – proprietatea constă dintr-o serie de grădini minunate, clădirea principală a palatului și dependințe pitorești, inclusiv fostele grajduri cu cartiere adiacente pentru ofițeri și servitorii lor. Terenurile palatului sunt deosebit de remarcabile și includ o minunată grădină botanică proiectată parțial de Goethe. Deși rămân elemente ale acestor prime grădini, ea a fost mult remodelată de-a lungul secolelor, adăugând căi plăcute. O adăugire notabilă a fost frumoasa Orangerie, acum bine conservată și merită vizitată pentru expozițiile sale de trăsuri istorice trase de cai.

Kirms-Krackow House

Originally built in Late Gothic style, Kirms-Krackow House (Kirms-Krackow-Haus) today has a simple Baroque façade and is worth visiting for its splendid old courtyard with its wooden gallery and gardens. Now a museum, its highlights include the home’s fine original furniture and artifacts providing a glimpse into the lives of the middle class during Goethe’s time. Also of interest is an exhibition showcasing the botany of Weimar, located in the Baroque garden pavilion.

Construit inițial în stil gotic târziu, Casa Kirms-Krackow (Kirms-Krackow-Haus) are astăzi o fațadă barocă simplă și merită vizitată pentru curtea sa splendidă veche, cu galeria și grădinile sale din lemn. Acum un muzeu, principalele sale atracții includ mobilier și artefacte originale ale casei, oferind o privire asupra vieții clasei de mijloc în timpul lui Goethe. De asemenea, este de interes o expoziție care prezintă botanica din Weimar, situată în pavilionul grădinii baroce.

Capitale culturale europene

Stockholm – Suedia (1998)

Did you know that …

– the city of Stockholm stretches over 14 islands, connected by 57 bridges;

– The Stockholm subway is known as the longest art gallery in the world, most stations being adorned with paintings, sculptures and mosaics. An interesting journey into the art world from the ‘50s onwards in over 90 metro stations or, better said, in 90 art galleries;

– the city became the place of awarding the Nobel Prizes in 1901. In fact, you can visit the Nobel Museum, which presents the winning works of the Nobel Prize, the life of Alfred Nobel and the Nobel Prize winners. The museum opened in 2001 to celebrate the centenary of the Nobel Prize;

– The Swedes are very concerned about the environment, so that 30% of the city’s surface is covered by water, 30% by parks, benefiting from the cleanest air. In 2010 Stockholm was designated the „Green Capital of Europe”. How? Cleaning the lakes in the city, reducing carbon emissions, reducing car traffic in the city center, developing the public transport network and investing in bicycle lanes;

– in winter, on the shortest day of the year you cannot see the sunlight for more than 6 hours, while in summer, the longest day lasts 21 hours;

– Globe Arena is the largest spherical building in the world, visible from miles away and has become a symbol of Stockholm. With a circumference of 690 meters and a diameter of 110 meters, the arena hosts sports competitions, cultural events and concerts. It also has two spherical glass gondolas attached, each with 16 seats, so that people can enjoy beautiful views of Stockholm;

– Typical Swedish coffee break. Fika tells him, and the Swedes take her very seriously. Mandatory an espresso or coffee latte is accompanied by a sandwich or pastry, such as cinnamon or cardamom buns, fresh and delicious. There are plenty of cafes and bars all over Stockholm, so you have a choice;

– Minecraft computer game was invented in Stockholm. And the telecommunications company Ericsson, the Spotify application;

– wherever you go, the world will greet you with a „hey”. Hey, hey, hey. This means. And “Hey! „Goodbye.”

Stiati ca…

– orasul Stockholm se intinde pe 14 insule, legate intre ele prin 57 de poduri;

– metroul din Stockholm este cunoscut drept cea mai lunga galerie de arta din lume, majoritatea statiilor fiind impodobite cu picturi, sculpturi si mozaicuri. O calatorie interesanta in lumea artei din anii ‘50 incoace in peste 90 de statii de metrou sau, mai bine zis, in 90 galerii de arta;

– orasul a devenit locul de atribuire a Premiilor Nobel in anul 1901. De altfel, puteti vizita Muzeul Nobel, ce prezintă lucrările cȃştigătoare ale premiului Nobel, viaţa lui Alfred Nobel şi laureaţii premiului Nobel. Muzeul s-a deschis în anul 2001 pentru a celebra centenarul premiului Nobel;

– suedezii sunt foarte preocupati de mediul inconjurator, astfel ca 30% din suprafata orasului este acoperita de ape, 30% de parcuri, beneficiind de cel mai curat aer. In anul 2010 Stockholm a fost desemnta “Capitala verde a Europei”. Cum? Curatand lacurile din oras, reducand emisiile de carbon, reducand circulatia auto in centrul orasului, dezvoltand reteaua de transport in comun si investind in piste pentru biciclete;

–  iarna, in cea mai scurta zi a anului nu poti vedea lumina soarelui mai mult de 6 ore, in timp ce vara, cea mai lunga zi dureaza 21 ore;

– globe Arena este cea mai mare cladire sferica din lume, vizibila de la kilometri distanta si a devenit un simbol al orasului Stockholm. Cu o circumferinta de 690 de metri si un diametru de 110 metri, arena gazduieste competitii sportive, evenimente culturale si concerte. De asemenea, are atasate doua gondole sferice din sticla, fiecare cu cate 16 locuri, pentru ca oamenii sa se poata bucura de privelisti superbe asupra orasului Stockholm;

– pauza de cafea tipic suedeza. Fika ii spune, iar suedezii o iau foarte in serios. Obligatoriu un espresso sau cafe latte este insotit de un sandwich sau un produs de patiserie, ca de exemplu chifle cu scorțișoară sau cardamom, proaspete si delicioase. Există o multime de cafenele si baruri peste tot in Stockholm, asa ca aveti de unde alege;

– jocul pe computer Minecraft a fost inventat in Stockholm. Iar compania de telecomunicatii Ericsson, aplicatia Spotify;

– oriunde vei merge, lumea te va intampina cu un “hej”. Hej, hei, buna. Asta inseamna. Iar “Hej da! “ inseamna “La revedere”.

ABBA: The Museum

More than three decades after they split up their music still pops up in movies, TV shows and of course their record-breaking musical Mamma Mia. The museum brims with ABBA memorabilia.One is Benny Andersson’s piano, which is connected remotely to the piano in his house and plays whatever he’s playing at home. There’s also a phone, Ring Ring, that only the four ABBA members know the number to. At the immersive “Waterloo” exhibit you can step back to 1974 and relive the Eurovision Song Contest that ABBA won with “Waterloo”, to kick-start their career.

La mai bine de trei decenii după ce și-au despărțit muzica, apare încă în filme, emisiuni TV și, bineînțeles, muzicalul lor record Mamma Mia. Muzeul este plin de suveniruri ABBA. Unul este pianul lui Benny Andersson, care este conectat de la distanță la pianul din casa lui și cântă orice cântă acasă. Există, de asemenea, un telefon, Ring Ring, către care numai cei patru membri ABBA știu numărul. La expoziția captivantă „Waterloo” puteți să vă retrageți în 1974 și să retrăiți concursul Eurovision pe care ABBA l-a câștigat cu „Waterloo”, pentru a începe cariera.

Royal Palace

With more than 600 rooms Stockholm’s Royal Palace is up there with the largest palaces in Europe. There are five museums in this mostly 18th-century complex, which isn’t just a historical relic: The King of Sweden still lives here, most royal events and receptions happen at the palace and all the various departments associated with the royal family operate in these environs. Just the must-sees includes the reception rooms, the royal apartments, the Rikssalen (Hall of State) and the Ordenssalarna (Halls of the Orders of Chivalry). Of the five museums, the Treasury is predictably lavish and Gustav III’s Museum of Antiquities has ancient Greek and Roman sculptures bought by the king during his trip to Italy in 1783-84.

Cu mai mult de 600 de camere, Palatul Regal din Stockholm se află acolo, cu cele mai mari palate din Europa. Există cinci muzee în acest complex majoritar din secolul al XVIII-lea, care nu este doar o relicvă istorică: Regele Suediei locuiește încă aici, majoritatea evenimentelor și recepțiilor regale se întâmplă la palat și toate departamentele asociate familiei regale funcționează în aceste împrejurimi. Doar vizitele obligatorii includ camerele de recepție, apartamentele regale, Rikssalen (Sala de Stat) și Ordenssalarna (Săli ale Ordinelor de cavalerie). Dintre cele cinci muzee, Trezoreria este previzibil de generoasă, iar Muzeul de Antichități al lui Gustav al III-lea are sculpturi antice grecești și romane cumpărate de rege în timpul călătoriei sale în Italia în anii 1783-84.

Fotografiska

By the water on Södermalm is one of the world’s top photography galleries. The location is the old wharf at Stadsgården, and the attraction is in a repurposed customs building. There are four high-profile exhibitions staged at Fotografiska per year, along with 20 smaller shows. Just by way of intro, some of the photographers featured here recently are greats like Robert Mapplethorpe, Guy Bourdin, Irving Penn, and Akseli Vamunen (Young Nordic Photographer of the Year in 2016).

Lângă apă pe Södermalm este una dintre cele mai importante galerii de fotografie din lume. Locația este vechiul debarcader de la Stadsgården, iar atracția se află într-o clădire vamală refăcută. Există patru expoziții de mare spectacol organizate la Fotografiska pe an, împreună cu 20 de spectacole mai mici. Doar ca introducere, unii dintre fotografii prezentați recent aici sunt mari ca Robert Mapplethorpe, Guy Bourdin, Irving Penn și Akseli Vamunen (Tânăr fotograf nordic al anului în 2016).

The City Hall

One of the buildings that makes Stockholm, well, Stockholm is the City Hall, unmistakeable for its 106-metre tower and spire. Composed of eight million bricks it’s the perfect expression of the Nordic National Romantic style and was inaugurated in June 1923 400 years to the day after Gustav Vasa’s arrival in the city. The dimensions of the spaces inside are spellbinding, most of all the Blue Hall where the Nobel Banquet is held every December. After dinner, there’s a dance in the Golden Hall, which is adorned with 18 million gold mosaic tiles.

Una dintre clădirile care fac Stockholm, ei bine, Stockholm este Primăria, inconfundabilă pentru turnul și turla de 106 metri. Compus din opt milioane de cărămizi, este expresia perfectă a stilului romantic național nordic și a fost inaugurat în iunie 1923, 400 de ani după sosirea lui Gustav Vasa în oraș. Dimensiunile spațiilor din interior sunt fascinante, mai ales sala albastră unde se organizează banchetul Nobel în fiecare decembrie. După cină, există un dans în Sala de Aur, care este împodobită cu 18 milioane de mozaicuri de aur.

Stockholm Public Library

A bibliophile’s idea of heaven, the central building for the Stockholm Public Library is one of the world’s most beautiful libraries, and changed the city’s relationship with books when it opened in 1928. That’s down to the monumental rotunda at the top of the building. This is a gigantic hall encircled with bookshelves, and for the first time readers could seek out the book they needed by themselves without having to consult the librarians. Gunnar Asplund designed the library, and it’s held as a shining example of the Swedish Classicist movement.

Ideea de cer a unui bibliofil, clădirea centrală a Bibliotecii Publice din Stockholm este una dintre cele mai frumoase biblioteci din lume și a schimbat relația orașului cu cărțile când a fost deschisă în 1928. Aceasta este până la monumentala rotundă din vârful clădirii. Aceasta este o sală gigantică înconjurată de rafturi pentru cărți, iar pentru prima dată cititorii ar putea căuta singuri cartea de care aveau nevoie fără a fi nevoie să consulte bibliotecarii. Gunnar Asplund a proiectat biblioteca și este considerată un exemplu strălucitor al mișcării clasiciste suedeze.

Gamla Stan

Begin by going back to Stockholm’s roots at one of Europe’s great medieval centres, spread over three islands. On the eastern side of the old town there’s a long sequence of parallel cobblestone lanes leading in from the water and dipping under passageways. Come here to squeeze through Mårten Trotzigs Gränd, an alley that tapers to just 90 centimetres across.

Începeți prin a vă întoarce la rădăcinile Stockholmului, la unul dintre marile centre medievale ale Europei, răspândit pe trei insule. În partea de est a orașului vechi există o lungă secvență de benzi paralele pietruite care intră din apă și se scufundă sub pasaje. Vino aici pentru a strecura prin Mårten Trotzigs Gränd, o alee care se învârte la doar 90 de centimetri lățime.

Skansen

The visionary teacher and academic Artur Hazelius founded what was the first ever open-air museum in the world on Royal Djurgården in 1891. The idea was to show future generations what life was like in Sweden before the Industrial Age, and it has been borrowed by hundreds of museums around the world. More than a century Skansen it’s still the best museum in its class, in 30 hectares and with a large cast recreating rural scenes from all over Sweden down to the finest detail. A Sami camp from the Arctic circle, a farm from the remote western Härjedalen province and a open-air zoo with wolves, lynxes, otters, grey seals, reindeer and moose are a few of the attractions.

Profesorul vizionar și academician Artur Hazelius a fondat ceea ce a fost primul muzeu în aer liber din lume pe Royal Djurgården în 1891. Ideea a fost să arate generațiilor viitoare cum era viața în Suedia înainte de epoca industrială și a fost împrumutată de sute de muzee din întreaga lume. Mai mult de un secol Skansen este în continuare cel mai bun muzeu din clasa sa, pe 30 de hectare și cu o distribuție mare care recreează scene rurale din toată Suedia până în cele mai mici detalii. O tabără sami din cercul polar arctic, o fermă din îndepărtata provincie vestică Härjedalen și o grădină zoologică în aer liber cu lupi, râși, vidre, foci gri, reni și elani sunt câteva dintre atracțiile.

Kungsträdgården

Behind the Royal Palace is a park that has something happening in all seasons. But Kungsträdgården is never more beautiful than in April when its twin avenues of cherry trees are in bloom. Thousands of people show up for Körsbärsblommans Dag (Cherry Blossom Day) in this month for a walk under those pink canopies. In winter there’s a skating rink in the part of the park known as the oktogonen (octagon), while if you pass by in summer you’re sure to catch some temporary installation or festival.

În spatele Palatului Regal este un parc care are ceva care se întâmplă în toate anotimpurile. Dar Kungsträdgården nu este niciodată mai frumos decât în aprilie, când căile sale gemene de cireși sunt în floare. Mii de oameni se prezintă pentru Körsbärsblommans Dag (Ziua Flori de Cireș) în această lună pentru o plimbare sub acele copertine roz. Iarna există un patinoar în partea parcului cunoscută sub numele de oktogonen (octogon), în timp ce dacă treci pe lângă vara, vei fi sigur că vei prinde o instalație temporară sau un festival.

Prins Eugen Waldemarsudde

There’s a snapshot of turn-of-the-century royal life at Prince Eugen’s estate on Djurgården. Eugen was a man of leisure who threw himself into the art world. He was a prominent collector and patron, and in his youth studied fine art in Paris. Eugen’s collection, as well as his own landscape paintings, decorate his Art Nouveau house on an estate with buildings going back to the 18th century. This is all on a small peninsula enveloped in mature oak woodland, facing the canal that links Stockholm to the Baltic and with the city’s skyline in the background. The estate’s flower garden is a joy in early summer, and there’s also a sculpture garden with works by the likes of Auguste Rodin.

Există o imagine a vieții regale de la începutul secolului la moșia prințului Eugen din Djurgården. Eugen a fost un om liber care s-a aruncat în lumea artei. A fost un colecționar și patron proeminent și, în tinerețe, a studiat arta plastică la Paris. Colecția lui Eugen, precum și propriile sale picturi peisagistice, decorează casa sa Art Nouveau pe o moșie cu clădiri care datează din secolul al XVIII-lea. Totul se află pe o mică peninsulă învelită în pădure de stejar matur, cu fața către canalul care leagă Stockholm de Marea Baltică și cu orizontul orașului în fundal. Grădina de flori a proprietății este o bucurie la începutul verii și există, de asemenea, o grădină de sculptură cu lucrări de genul lui Auguste Rodin.

Nordic Museum

Artur Hazelius, founder of the Skansen Museum, also conceived this ethnographical attraction a few moments away on Djurgården. The Nordic Museum spells out the cultural history of Sweden from about the 16th century onwards, showcasing its traditional costume and textiles, ceramics, jewellery, furniture and folk art. You can also get a handle on the Sami, Sweden’s only indigenous culture, and dip into their history, beliefs and way of life. Isak Gustaf Clason was hired to design the building and came up with an extraordinary Neo-Renaissance palace that was finished in 1907 after a 19-year construction.

Artur Hazelius, fondatorul Muzeului Skansen, a conceput, de asemenea, această atracție etnografică la câteva momente distanță pe Djurgården. Muzeul nordic descrie istoria culturală a Suediei începând cu secolul al XVI-lea încoace, prezentând costumul său tradițional și textilele, ceramica, bijuteriile, mobilierul și arta populară. Puteți obține, de asemenea, o atenție la Sami, singura cultură indigenă a Suediei și vă puteți scufunda în istoria, credințele și modul lor de viață. Isak Gustaf Clason a fost angajat să proiecteze clădirea și a venit cu un extraordinar palat neorenascentist care a fost finalizat în 1907 după o construcție de 19 ani.

Modern Art Museum

On the island of Skeppsholmen at the Baltic Sea entrance to the city is the pick of Stockholm’s superb institutions for modern and contemporary art. The museum started out in the 1950s in a former military building before moving into this Rafael Moneo-designed edifice at the end of the 90s. Some of the names that even casual dabblers will know are Picasso, Marcel Duschamp, Henri Matisse and Salvador Dalí.

Pe insula Skeppsholmen, la intrarea în orașul Mării Baltice, se află alegerea instituțiilor superbe din Stockholm pentru artă modernă și contemporană. Muzeul a început în anii 1950 într-o fostă clădire militară înainte de a se muta în acest edificiu proiectat de Rafael Moneo la sfârșitul anilor ’90. Câteva dintre numele pe care le vor cunoaște chiar și cei obișnuiți sunt Picasso, Marcel Duschamp, Henri Matisse și Salvador Dalí.

The Medieval Museum

In the 1970s during the construction of an underground car park builders happened upon some of Stockholm’s medieval city walls. This is under the Norrbro bridge and measures 55 metres, and is now one of the showpieces of the city’s medieval museum. Here you can track the history of the city from its foundation in the 13th century to the 16th century at the end of the medieval period. Kids can dress up in armour, while other pieces of old Stockholm that came to light in the dig are part of the fun, like a 16th-century warship and a medieval graveyard. These mingle with recreated houses, taverns and workshops.

În anii 1970, în timpul construcției unei parcări subterane, constructorii s-au întâmplat pe unele ziduri medievale ale orașului Stockholm. Acesta se află sub podul Norrbro și măsoară 55 de metri și este acum una dintre piesele de spectacol ale muzeului medieval al orașului. Aici puteți urmări istoria orașului de la înființarea sa în secolul al XIII-lea până în secolul al XVI-lea la sfârșitul perioadei medievale. Copiii se pot îmbrăca în armuri, în timp ce alte piese din vechiul Stockholm care au ieșit la iveală în săpătură fac parte din distracție, cum ar fi o navă de război din secolul al XVI-lea și un cimitir medieval. Acestea se amestecă cu case, taverne și ateliere recreate.

Stortorget

Gamla Stan is the oldest square in the city at the highest point of the island. Stockholm’s expansion in the High Middle Ages began at this very point, and you can be sure that Stortorget has seen some drama in its time. One was the Stockholm Bloodbath of 1520 when up to 90 people were executed in the square by Danish forces. Stortorget’s beauty is in its gabled houses from the 1600s and 1700s.

Gamla Stan este cea mai veche piață din oraș, în cel mai înalt punct al insulei. Extinderea Stockholmului în Evul Mediu înalt a început chiar în acest moment și puteți fi siguri că Stortorget a văzut o dramă la vremea sa. Una a fost Băile de sânge din Stockholm din 1520, când până la 90 de persoane au fost executate în piață de forțele daneze. Frumusețea lui Stortorget se află în casele sale frontonate din anii 1600 și 1700.

Drottningholm Palace

One of Sweden’s three World Heritage Sites is on the western outskirts of Stockholm. Drottningholm is in the French style and was conceived in 17th century. Refinements were made over the next few hundred years when each successive monarch left his or her own mark on the palace. There are opulent salons from the 1600s, 1700s and 1800s, but one of the remarkable details is the Palace Theatre, which dates to the 1700s and continues to stage performances to this day, unchanged. The Chinese Pavilion, finished in 1769, is another marvel in an oriental-infused Rococo style and with interiors enriched with decorative works like porcelain and lacquered furniture gathered by the Swedish East India Company in the 18th century.

Unul dintre cele trei situri ale Patrimoniului Mondial din Suedia se află la periferia vestică a Stockholmului. Drottningholm este în stil francez și a fost conceput în secolul al XVII-lea. Rafinări au fost făcute în următoarele câteva sute de ani, când fiecare monarh succesiv și-a lăsat amprenta asupra palatului. Există saloane opulente din anii 1600, 1700 și 1800, dar unul dintre detaliile remarcabile este Teatrul Palatului, care datează din anii 1700 și continuă să organizeze spectacole până în prezent, neschimbat. Pavilionul chinezesc, terminat în 1769, este o altă minune într-un stil rococo cu infuzie orientală și cu interioare îmbogățite cu lucrări decorative precum porțelan și mobilier lăcuit adunate de Compania suedeză a Indelor de Est în secolul al XVIII-lea.

Junibacken

Based on the stories of children’s author Astrid Lindgren, Junibacken is a theme park aimed at young readers. Lindgren’s contribution to literature is indisputable and is still one of the world’s 20 most translated writers. Her most beloved character is Pippi Longstocking, whose house, Villa Villekulla, is the final destination of a whimsical train ride through the park. The park is designed to kindle children’s natural curiosity and abounds with niches, tunnels and miniature houses to adventure through. Junibacken also has the largest children’s bookshop in the country, and Storybook Square is a kind of hall of fame for Sweden’s long lineup of renowned children’s authors like Elsa Beskow and Sven Nordqvist.

Bazat pe poveștile autorului pentru copii Astrid Lindgren, Junibacken este un parc tematic destinat tinerilor cititori. Contribuția lui Lindgren la literatură este incontestabilă și este încă unul dintre cei 20 de scriitori cei mai traduși din lume. Cel mai iubit personaj al ei este Pippi Longstocking, a cărui casă, Villa Villekulla, este destinația finală a unei plimbări capricioase cu trenul prin parc. Parcul este conceput pentru a aprinde curiozitatea naturală a copiilor și abundă în nișe, tuneluri și case în miniatură, prin care se pot aventura. Junibacken are, de asemenea, cel mai mare magazin de cărți pentru copii din țară, iar Storybook Square este un fel de sală a faimei pentru lunga linie de autori renumiți din Suedia, precum Elsa Beskow și Sven Nordqvist.

Vasa Museum

An awesome relic from the 17th-century reign of the all-conquering King Gustavus Adolphus has been revived at this museum the west shore of Djurgården. The Vasa was a 64-gun warship that went down on its first voyage in 1628. It remained in the deep until 1961 when it was lifted to the surface and slowly and painstakingly restored. The vessel has almost all of its original material and is the only 17th-century ship of this scale to make it to the present day. And with the ship came a payload of artefacts that tell us what it was like to sail on the Vasa.

O relicvă minunată din domnia secolului al XVII-lea al regelui atot-cuceritor Gustavus Adolphus a fost reînviată la acest muzeu de pe malul vestic al Djurgårdenului. Vasa a fost o navă de război cu 64 de tunuri care a coborât în prima sa călătorie în 1628. A rămas în adâncuri până în 1961, când a fost ridicată la suprafață și restaurată încet și minuțios. Nava are aproape tot materialul original și este singura navă din această scară din secolul al XVII-lea care a ajuns până în prezent. Și odată cu nava a venit o încărcătură utilă de artefacte care ne spun cum a fost să navighezi pe Vasa.

Hallwyl Museum

In the 1890s the aristocratic couple Walther von Hallwyl and his wife Wilhelmina ordered this mansion in the centre of Stockholm facing Berzelii Park. The architect was Isak Gustaf Clason, responsible for many regal properties around the city like the Nordic Museum. Hallywyl House is in a faithful Italian Renaissance style and while it might seem historic, the palace was advanced for its day and had phones, plumbing, central heating and electricity. The countess in particular was a prodigious art collector, and even ten years before she passed away the palace had been donated to the state because of its profusion of fine art, furniture, silver, tableware and expertly crafted fittings. The drawing room, dining room and billiard room are all very swish, while the courtyard puts on concerts in summer.

În anii 1890, cuplul aristocratic Walther von Hallwyl și soția sa Wilhelmina au comandat acest conac în centrul Stockholmului, cu vedere la Parcul Berzelii. Arhitectul a fost Isak Gustaf Clason, responsabil pentru multe proprietăți regale din oraș, precum Muzeul Nordic. Hallywyl House are un stil renascentist italian și, deși ar putea părea istoric, palatul a fost avansat pentru ziua sa și avea telefoane, instalații sanitare, încălzire centrală și electricitate. Contesa, în special, a fost o colecționară de artă prodigioasă și chiar cu zece ani înainte de moartea sa, palatul a fost donat statului datorită profuziei sale de artă plastică, mobilier, argint, veselă și accesorii artizanale. Salonul, sala de mese și sala de biliard sunt toate foarte clare, în timp ce curtea organizează concerte vara.

Swedish History Museum

The Swedish History Museum is anchored in the art collection of the 16th-century King Gustav Vasa, which grew with subsequent monarchs as the Empire expanded. Now you’ll get a full chronology of Swedish history from Prehistory to the present day, with special attention on the exploits of the Vikings. The Gold Room is literally brilliant, with more than 3,000 objects across 3,500 years of Swedish history. Unforgettable here are the gold collars from 300-500 made from melted down Roman gold coins. The Viking collection is as rich as you’d hope, and has artefacts from the trading post at Birka and the Mästermyr tool chest.

Muzeul suedez de istorie este ancorat în colecția de artă a regelui Gustav Vasa din secolul al XVI-lea, care a crescut odată cu monarhii ulteriori pe măsură ce Imperiul s-a extins. Acum veți obține o cronologie completă a istoriei suedeze de la preistorie până în prezent, cu o atenție specială asupra exploatărilor vikingilor. Camera de Aur este literalmente strălucitoare, cu mai mult de 3.000 de obiecte în 3.500 de ani de istorie suedeză. De neuitat aici sunt gulerele de aur de la 300 la 500 realizate din monede romane de aur topite. Colecția Viking este la fel de bogată pe cât ai spera și are artefacte din postul de tranzacționare de la Birka și cufărul pentru instrumente Mästermyr.

Strandvägen

Beside the water on Östermalm is one of the most exclusive addresses in the city: A boulevard and esplanade with views to Gamla Stan and Skeppsholmen, and tying Djurgården to the centre of the city. Strandvägen was plotted in the late 19th century and completed in 1897 for the Stockholm World’s Fair. The long row of palatial apartment buildings is in the Revivalist style, epitomised by Isak Gustaf Clason’s Bünsow Building, which looks like a Loire Valley chateau. Stockholm’s tour boats and water taxis converge on Strandvägen.

Lângă apă pe Östermalm este una dintre cele mai exclusive adrese din oraș: un bulevard și o esplanadă cu vedere la Gamla Stan și Skeppsholmen și legând Djurgården de centrul orașului. Strandvägen a fost trasat la sfârșitul secolului al XIX-lea și finalizat în 1897 pentru Expoziția Universală din Stockholm. Șirul lung de clădiri de apartamente palatice este în stil revivalist, simbolizat de clădirea Bünsow a lui Isak Gustaf Clason, care arată ca un castel din Valea Loarei. Barcile turistice din Stockholm și taxiurile acvatice converg spre Strandvägen.

Capitale culturale europene

Thessaloniki – Grecia (1997)

Thessalonike (352 or 345 – 295 BC) was a Macedonian princess, the daughter of King Philip II of Macedon by his Thessalian wife or concubine, Nicesipolis. History links her to three of the most powerful men in Macedon—daughter of King Philip II, half-sister of Alexander the Great and wife of Cassander. There exists a popular Greek legend which talks about a mermaid who lived in the Aegean for hundreds of years who was thought to be Thessalonike. The legend states that Alexander, in his quest for the Fountain of Immortality, retrieved with great exertion a flask of immortal water with which he bathed his sister’s hair. When Alexander died his grief-stricken sister attempted to end her life by jumping into the sea. Instead of drowning, however, she became a mermaid passing judgment on mariners throughout the centuries and across the seven seas. To the sailors who encountered her she would always pose the same question: „Is Alexander the king alive?”, to which the correct answer would be „He lives and reigns and conquers the world”. Given this answer she would allow the ship and her crew to sail safely away in calm seas. Any other answer would transform her into the raging Gorgon, bent on sending the ship and every sailor on board to the bottom.

Tesalonic (352 sau 345 – 295 î.Hr.) a fost o prințesă macedoneană, fiica regelui Filip al II-lea al Macedoniei de către soția sau concubina sa tesaliană, Nicesipolis. Istoria o leagă de trei dintre cei mai puternici bărbați din Macedonia – fiica regelui Filip al II-lea, sora vitregă a lui Alexandru cel Mare și soția lui Cassander. Există o legendă populară greacă care vorbește despre o sirenă care a trăit în Marea Egee sute de ani despre care se credea că este Tesalonic. Legenda spune că Alexandru, în căutarea Fântânii nemuririi, a recuperat cu mare efort un balon de apă nemuritoare cu care a scăldat părul surorii sale. Când Alexandru a murit, sora lui indurerată a încercat să-și pună capăt vieții sărind în mare. În loc să se înece, ea a devenit o sirenă care judecă marinarii de-a lungul secolelor și peste cele șapte mări. Marinarilor, care au întâlnit-o, ar pune mereu aceeași întrebare: „Alexandru, este regele în viață?”, La care răspunsul corect ar fi „El trăiește, domnește și cucerește lumea”. Având acest răspuns, ea va permite navei și echipajului ei să navigheze în siguranță, în mări calme. Orice alt răspuns ar transforma-o în Gorgona furioasă, care scufunda corabia și pe fiecare marinar de la bord.

Hagios Demetrios

After Thessaloniki’s Patron Saint Demetrius was martyred in the 4th century a church was built on the same site. The early buildings here were repeatedly destroyed by fire until the current structure was constructed as a five-aisled basilica in the early 630s. The church is famed for its mosaic panels dating to sometime between the 630s to the 730s, showing Demetrius with children and with the church founders are rare examples of art from the time following Emperor Justinian’s death. Sadly a few other invaluable mosaics were lost in a fire in 1917. The crypt holds the Roman bathhouse in which Demetrius was imprisoned and killed, and was forgotten about during Ottoman rule until excavations after the fire in 1917. Since 1988 it has been an exhibition, replete with sculptures, capitals, vessels and closure slabs from the early, middle and late-Byzantine period discovered during digs.

După ce Patronul din Salonic Sfântul Dimitrie a fost martirizat în secolul al IV-lea, o biserică a fost construită pe același loc. Primele clădiri de aici au fost distruse în mod repetat de incendiu până când structura actuală a fost construită ca o bazilică cu cinci culoare la începutul anilor 630. Biserica este renumită pentru panourile sale de mozaic care datează între anii 630-730, arătând că Demetrius cu copii și cu fondatorii bisericii sunt exemple rare de artă de pe vremea morții împăratului Justinian. Din păcate, alte câteva mozaicuri neprețuite s-au pierdut într-un incendiu în 1917. Cripta deține baia romană în care Demetrius a fost închis și ucis și a fost uitată în timpul stăpânirii otomane până la săpăturile de după incendiul din 1917. Din 1988 a fost o expoziție , plina de sculpturi, capiteluri, vase și plăci de închidere din perioada bizantină timpurie, mijlocie și târzie descoperită în timpul săpăturilor.

Aristotelous Square

Aristotelous Square is on the city’s waterfront at Nikis Avenue. This splendid plaza was conceived by the French architect Ernest Hébrard in 1918 although it would be a few decades before the square was edged by its current mansion blocks, which are now all listed buildings. Almost all of Thessaloniki’s public celebrations, as well as cultural and political events and rallies are held on Aristotelous Square.

Piața Aristotelous se află pe malul orașului, pe bulevardul Nikis. Această splendidă piață a fost concepută de arhitectul francez Ernest Hébrard în 1918, deși ar fi trecut câteva decenii înainte ca piața să fie marginită de actualele sale blocuri de conace, care acum sunt toate clădirile listate. Aproape toate sărbătorile publice din Salonic, precum și evenimentele culturale și politice și mitingurile se desfășoară în Piața Aristotel.

Atatürk Museum

In 1881, Mustafa Kemal Atatürk, the man who would become the founder and leader of the modern secular Turkish state was born at this three storey house on Apostolou Pavlou Street, now incorporated into the Turkish consulate. In 1935 Thessaloniki gave the building to the Turkish state to turn into a museum about his life and career. The house dates to 1870 and is decorated with mostly original furniture and personal belongings like clothing, eating utensils, smoking paraphernalia, crockery as well as photographs from different stages of Atatürk’s life. You can see the room in which Atatürk was born, and find a pomegranate tree in the courtyard that was planted by his father.

În 1881, Mustafa Kemal Atatürk, omul care avea să devină fondatorul și conducătorul statului turc laic modern s-a născut la această casă cu trei etaje de pe strada Apostolou Pavlou, acum încorporată în consulatul turc. În 1935 Salonic a dat clădirea statului turc pentru a se transforma într-un muzeu despre viața și cariera sa. Casa datează din 1870 și este decorată cu mobilier și obiecte personale mai ales originale, cum ar fi îmbrăcăminte, ustensile de mâncare, accesorii pentru fumat, veselă, precum și fotografii din diferite etape ale vieții lui Atatürk. Puteți vedea camera în care s-a născut Atatürk și puteți găsi un rodiu în curte, care a fost plantat de tatăl său.

Rotonda

At the turn of the 4th century Roman Emperor Galerius ordered a rotunda and connecting arch, an ensemble that joined his palace to an imperial precinct at the crossing point of the city’s main axes. This new imperial precinct was constructed as a new administrative base after the foundation of the Tetrarchy, when the Roman empire was split into four separate kingdoms, making Thessaloniki a new capital. The UNESCO-listed Rotunda is a mesmerising space, with a dome 30 metres above the floor that was once pierced with an oculus like the Pantheon in Rome. The building has been used as a pagan temple, Christian church and was a mosque throughout the Ottoman period (a minaret is still standing outside). On the walls are newly restored palaeo-Christian mosaics from the 5th century AD.

La sfârșitul secolului al IV-lea, împăratul roman Galerius a ordonat o arcadă rotundă și de legătură, un ansamblu care i-a unit palatul cu o incintă imperială la punctul de trecere al axelor principale ale orașului. Această nouă incintă imperială a fost construită ca o nouă bază administrativă după înființarea Tetrarhiei, când imperiul roman a fost împărțit în patru regate separate, făcând din Salonic o nouă capitală. Rotunda, inclusă în lista UNESCO, este un spațiu fascinant, cu o cupolă la 30 de metri deasupra podelei, care a fost străpunsă odată cu un oculus precum Panteonul din Roma. Clădirea a fost folosită ca templu păgân, biserică creștină și a fost o moschee pe tot parcursul perioadei otomane (un minaret este încă în picioare afară). Pe pereți sunt mozaicuri paleo-creștine nou restaurate din secolul al V-lea d.Hr.

Arch of Galerius

On Egnatia & Dimitrios Gounari Street, the Arch of Galerius was raised to celebrate Galerius’ victory over the Sassanid Persians and conquest of the city of Ctesiphon. The monument was an eight-pillared gateway with a triple arch that was coated in brick and then sculpted marble panels. More than 1,700 years later you’ll be awed by the size of the main portal, 12.5 metres in height and more than 10 metres wide. Although most of the marble panels have been lost, the remaining reliefs give you more than enough detail. In one image you can see Emperor Galerius on horseback, dwarfing his Persian enemies, and in another he is shown offering mercy to his defeated opponents. Come around to the north pillar of the arch where you can see representations of camels and elephants, adding some geographical context.

Pe strada Egnatia și Dimitrios Gounari, Arcul lui Galerius a fost ridicat pentru a sărbători victoria lui Galerius asupra persanilor sasanizi și cucerirea orașului Ctesiphon. Monumentul era o poartă cu opt stâlpi, cu un arc triplu care era acoperit cu cărămidă și apoi cu panouri de marmură sculptate. Mai mult de 1.700 de ani mai târziu, veți fi uimiți de dimensiunea portalului principal, de 12,5 metri înălțime și mai mare de 10 metri lățime. Deși majoritatea panourilor de marmură s-au pierdut, relieful rămas vă oferă detalii mai mult decât suficiente. Într-o imagine, îl puteți vedea pe împăratul Galerius călărit, împușcându-și dușmanii persani, iar într-o altă imagine este arătat oferind milă adversarilor săi învinși. Vino în jurul stâlpului nordic al arcului, unde poți vedea reprezentări ale cămilelor și elefanților, adăugând un anumit context geografic.

Hagia Sophia

Today’s Hagia Shophia took on its present architecture as long ago as the 8th century. It was modelled on its namesake church in Constantinople, and from the capture of Thessaloniki in 1430 right through to its liberation in 1912 Hagia Sophia was a mosque. The building is a shining piece of Byzantine middle period architecture, despite some of the mishaps to have befallen it, like fires in 1890 and 1917. After the second fire the dome wouldn’t be restored until 1980. This has a mosaic dating from the 9th century depicting the Ascension, with Jesus lifted by two angels and ringed by the 12 Apostles and Mary. Above the iconostasis is another captivating image, from the 11th century and showing the Madonna with Child.

Hagia Shophia de astăzi și-a asumat arhitectura actuală încă din secolul al VIII-lea. A fost modelată după biserica omonimă din Constantinopol și de la capturarea Salonicului în 1430 până la eliberarea sa în 1912 Hagia Sofia a fost o moschee. Clădirea este o piesă strălucitoare a arhitecturii bizantine din perioada mijlocie, în ciuda unora dintre nenorocirile care au avut-o, precum incendiile din 1890 și 1917. După al doilea incendiu, cupola nu va mai fi restaurată până în 1980. Aceasta are un mozaic datând din Secolul al IX-lea înfățișând Înălțarea, cu Iisus ridicat de doi îngeri și inelat de cei 12 apostoli și Maria. Deasupra iconostasului se află o altă imagine captivantă, din secolul al XI-lea și care arată Madona cu Pruncul.

Thessaloniki Science Centre Technology Museum

Not far southeast of the city centre is Greece’s foremost science and technology museum. In the main exhibition halls on the ground floor are 40 interactive stations helping kids get to grips with topics like optics, magnetism, telecommunications, electricity and mechanics , all in fun, unexpected ways. These are combined with exhibitions about the technological advances made in Ancient Greece and the history of motor transport from 1918 to today, with cars from all eras. There’s also a digital planetarium, with 150 seats and a 25-metre dome, a three-platform motion simulator theatre and a 200-seat amphitheatre for live demonstrations. But real secret weapon is the “Cosmotheatre”, projecting high-definition 3D movies about space and celestial bodies on the largest flat screen in Greece.

Nu departe de sud-estul centrului orașului se află cel mai important muzeu de știință și tehnologie din Grecia. În principalele săli de expoziție de la parter sunt 40 de stații interactive care ajută copiii să se ocupe de subiecte precum optică, magnetism, telecomunicații, electricitate și mecanică, toate în moduri distractive și neașteptate. Acestea sunt combinate cu expoziții despre progresele tehnologice realizate în Grecia Antică și istoria transportului cu motor din 1918 până astăzi, cu mașini din toate epocile. Există, de asemenea, un planetariu digital, cu 150 de locuri și o cupolă de 25 de metri, un simulator de mișcare cu trei platforme și un amfiteatru de 200 de locuri pentru demonstrații live. Dar adevărata armă secretă este „Cosmotheatre”, care proiectează filme 3D de înaltă definiție despre spațiu și corpuri cerești pe cel mai mare ecran plat din Grecia.

Archaeological Museum

A priority for anyone coming to Thessaloniki, the Archaeological Museum has Archaic, Classical, Hellenistic and Roman-era artefacts brought to light in the city and across Macedonia. There are finds from a 6th-century Ionic temple in the city, as well as a palace complex constructed by the early 4th-century emperor, Galerius. There’s also a reconstruction of a Macedonian tomb uncovered not far away in Agia Paraskevi. The “Gold of Macedon” exhibition has finds from cemeteries at Derveni, Sindos, Agia Paraskevi, Serres and Leti to name a few, while there’s also a recent exhibition covering prehistory to the end of the Bronze Age. Notable exhibits are singled out for special attention, like the Derveni Krater, which dates to the 4th century BC, weighs 40kg and is ornamented with figures of Ariadne, Dionysus, satyrs maenads and a warrior who could be Jason (of the Argonauts), Lycurgus of Thrace or Pentheus.

O prioritate pentru oricine vine în Salonic, Muzeul Arheologic are artefacte arhaice, clasice, elenistice și din epoca romană scoase la lumină în oraș și în toată Macedonia. Există descoperiri dintr-un templu ionic din secolul al VI-lea în oraș, precum și un complex de palate construit de împăratul de la începutul secolului al IV-lea, Galerius. Există, de asemenea, o reconstrucție a unui mormânt macedonean descoperit nu departe în Agia Paraskevi. Expoziția „Aurul Macedoniei” are descoperiri de la cimitirele de la Derveni, Sindos, Agia Paraskevi, Serres și Leti pentru a numi câteva, în timp ce există, de asemenea, o expoziție recentă care acoperă preistorie până la sfârșitul epocii bronzului. Expoziții notabile sunt selectate pentru o atenție specială, cum ar fi Derveni Krater, care datează din secolul al IV-lea î.Hr., cântărește 40 kg și este ornamentat cu figuri ale Ariadnei, Dionisului, satirilor menaduri și un războinic care ar putea fi Jason (al argonauților), Lycurgus al Traciei sau al Penteului.

Museum of Byzantine Culture

In 11 galleries this extraordinary museum maps the history of the Byzantine Empire with pieces collected from around Macedonia . These come from all periods, from the empire’s foundation by Constantine in the 4th century and the introduction of Christianity as the state religion, to its demise at the hands of the Ottoman Empire in the 15th century. In the museum’s collection are manuscripts, wooden icons, jewellery, fabrics going back to the 4th century, seals, mosaics, wall paintings, statues, early printed books and modern paintings inspired by Byzantine art. There are also some staggering examples of stonemasonry, like inscribed stones and arches and piers from churches.

În 11 galerii, acest muzeu extraordinar mapează istoria Imperiului Bizantin cu piese colectate din jurul Macedoniei. Acestea provin din toate perioadele, de la întemeierea imperiului de către Constantin în secolul al IV-lea și introducerea creștinismului ca religie de stat, până la dispariția sa în mâinile Imperiului Otoman în secolul al XV-lea. În colecția muzeului sunt manuscrise, icoane din lemn, bijuterii, țesături care datează din secolul al IV-lea, sigilii, mozaicuri, picturi de perete, statui, cărți tipărite timpurii și picturi moderne inspirate din arta bizantină. Există, de asemenea, câteva exemple uimitoare de masonerie, cum ar fi pietre inscripționate și arcuri și piloni din biserici.

Tower of Thessaloniki

Thessaloniki’s signature monument, the cylindrical, six-storey White Tower shows up on postcards and souvenirs and is the image many people in Greece call to mind when they think of the city. Put up to reinforce the eastern end of the harbour, the tower is right on the water and went up in the 15th century after Thessaloniki was taken by the Ottoman Empire. With a diameter of 23 metres the tower is 34 metres tall and hosts a museum about the history of Thessaloniki.

Monumentul semnat al Salonicului, Turnul Alb, cilindric, cu șase etaje, apare pe cărți poștale și suveniruri și este imaginea pe care mulți oameni din Grecia o amintesc când se gândesc la oraș. Amplasat pentru a consolida capătul estic al portului, turnul este chiar pe apă și a urcat în secolul al XV-lea după ce Salonic a fost preluat de Imperiul Otoman. Cu un diametru de 23 de metri, turnul are 34 de metri înălțime și găzduiește un muzeu despre istoria Salonicului.

Roman Forum

Also known as the Ancient Agora, the centre of public and political life in Roman Thessaloniki was excavated in 1966. The site, developed in two phases in the 2nd and 3rd centuries AD is delineated by the streets, Makedonikis Amynis, Olympou, Filippou, Agnostou Stratiotou. In Roman times the forum was at the intersection of the city’s two main streets, from north to south and east to west, and was just shy of 150 metres long and 100 metres across. A real thrill is the Cryptoporticus, partially subterranean corridors, most likely used for storage and built into the natural slope. These will lead you to an underground museum about the Forum, with artefacts and details about the excavation. There are also remnants of a mint, a set of baths and the Odeon, a restored Roman-era theatre on the east side.

Cunoscut și sub numele de Agora Antică, centrul vieții publice și politice din Salonic roman a fost excavat în 1966. Situl, dezvoltat în două faze în secolele II și III d.Hr. este delimitat de străzi, Makedonikis Amynis, Olympou, Filippou, Agnostou Stratiotou. În epoca romană, forumul se afla la intersecția celor două străzi principale ale orașului, de la nord la sud și de la est la vest, și era doar timid, cu o lungime de 150 de metri și o lungime de 100 de metri. Un adevărat fior este Cryptoporticus, coridoare parțial subterane, cel mai probabil utilizate pentru depozitare și încorporate în panta naturală. Acestea vă vor conduce la un muzeu subteran despre Forum, cu artefacte și detalii despre săpătură. Există, de asemenea, rămășițe ale unei monete, a unui set de băi și a Odeonului, un teatru restaurat din epoca romană pe partea de est.

Jewish Museum

On Agiou Mina street is a small museum recounting Thessaloniki’s Sephardic heritage, where a Spanish-speaking community flourished for 450 years until the Holocaust. Jews first settled the city at the end of the 15th century following their expulsion by Spain’s Catholic Monarchs. Arriving from Western Europe, they brought valuable modern skills like cartography, weapon-making, printing and medical science, thriving in the Ottoman climate of religious tolerance. The current modest but interesting gallery has Jewish gravestones, vintage photographs and information boards about key events like the 1943 deportation of 49,000 Jews, of whom fewer than 2,000 would survive.

Pe strada Agiou Mina este un mic muzeu care povestește moștenirea sefardică a Salonicului, unde o comunitate de limbă spaniolă a înflorit 450 de ani până la Holocaust. Evreii au stabilit prima dată orașul la sfârșitul secolului al XV-lea, după expulzarea lor de către monarhii catolici ai Spaniei. Sosiți din Europa de Vest, au adus abilități moderne valoroase precum cartografia, fabricarea armelor, tipărirea și știința medicală, prosperând în climatul otoman de toleranță religioasă. Actuala galerie modestă, dar interesantă, are pietre funerare evreiești, fotografii de epocă și panouri informative despre evenimente cheie, cum ar fi deportarea în 1943 a 49.000 de evrei, dintre care mai puțin de 2.000 ar supraviețui.

Heptapyrgion

On high ground at the northeastern side of Thessaloniki’s acropolis is a Byzantine-era fortress that was the city’s main redoubt. Despite the name “Heptagyrion” the fortress actually has ten towers instead of seven, five to the north and five to the south, all joined together by a wall. The northern towers are from the 900s, while the southern towers were erected in the 12th century. From the 15th century the Ottomans simply maintained the existing building, giving it a military purpose until the 1890s when it became a prison, a role it kept until 1989.

Pe un teren înalt, în partea de nord-est a acropolei din Salonic, se află o cetate din epoca bizantină, care a fost principala redută a orașului. În ciuda numelui „Heptagyrion”, cetatea are de fapt zece turnuri în loc de șapte, cinci la nord și cinci la sud, toate unite între ele printr-un zid. Turnurile nordice sunt din anii 900, în timp ce turnurile sudice au fost ridicate în secolul al XII-lea. Din secolul al XV-lea, otomanii pur și simplu au întreținut clădirea existentă, oferindu-i un scop militar până în anii 1890, când a devenit închisoare, rol pe care l-a păstrat până în 1989.

Alexander the Great Monument

Next to a fountain at Nea Parelia is an equestrian statue of Macedonia’s most famous son, part of a development that has regenerated the waterfront. Thessaloniki was named in the 4th century BC after Thessalonike of Macedon, a half-sister of Alexander, and wife of King Cassander of Macedon. The monument is six metres high and shows him on Bucephalus, one of antiquity’s most distinguished horses. Along the promenade beside Alexander are rows of sarissas, the long pikes introduced by Philip II of Macedon and used to great success by Alexander at the Battles of Issus, the Granicus and Gaugamela.

Lângă o fântână de la Nea Parelia se află o statuie ecvestră a celui mai faimos fiu al Macedoniei, parte a unei dezvoltări care a regenerat malul apei. Salonic a fost numit în secolul al IV-lea î.Hr. după numele lui Tesalonic al Macedoniei, o soră vitregă a lui Alexandru și soția regelui Cassander al Macedoniei. Monumentul are o înălțime de șase metri și îl arată pe Bucephalus, unul dintre cei mai distinși cai ai antichității. De-a lungul promenadei de lângă Alexandru se găsesc șiruri de sarise, șoldurile lungi introduse de Filip al II-lea al Macedoniei și utilizate de Alexandru cu mare succes în bătăliile de la Issus, Granicus și Gaugamela.